Author Topic: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now running at 90 FPS!)  (Read 9007 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2013, 06:29:33 pm »
Heya welcome here :). Nice to hear about the wait command. I wondered if there was one, since it could be handy to ensure our programs run at the right speed in both the emu (assuming the emulator clock is accurate) and the calc.

I should calculate in my program how many rectangles are shown every second approximately, to see if a pseudo 3D racing game like Outrun or Lotus Turbo Challenge would be possible.

EDIT: Also an update: I changed the text color a bit, fixed one minor color issue with the score and am now gonna release the game in the archives!

EDIT 2: Done! http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=downloads;sa=view;down=859
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 01:01:10 am by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2013, 04:16:22 am »
Another update:

The game speed is slowed down a little bit but now gameplay should almost run at the same speed as the real calc because I added WAIT commands.

I also got rid of the msgbox at the end and just display a zoomed-in, shaky copy of the score. The msgbox kept crashing the emu. There is also an intro animation at the start but I would need critor to see if it runs fast enough on-calc.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 01:00:54 am by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2013, 01:00:18 am »
This is a new version, although it doesn't add anything other than a copyright. Since HP distributed the game in source code in a PDF with at least one prototype (and an outdated version of the game which ran at 2 FPS on calc due to me forgetting to remove the FOR U FROM 0 TO 19999 DO line lol), I added a small copyright to the game so people don't think HP made the game or something lol.

There might be future updates, though, such as switching to DIMGROB and BLIT to scroll the screen. It will depend if it's faster than the current method.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2013, 01:09:47 am by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2013, 05:37:23 pm »
Maybe you could contact Tim Wessman(and point him to the updated version) and let him know. Perhaps he can pass it on to the proper people. I saw in the Cemetech topic that your game was included. I was a bit surprised that they just tossed it in there(in the pdf). It is pretty neat that they did though. :D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2013, 12:52:52 am »
Yeah I Did that actually this weekend. Not sure if he got the 3-mail since in the past I had issues with Critor not receiving my e-mails (from my main address), but yeah the fact that one game was included shows that they are open to such development and wanted to show what could be done.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [HP Prime] Color Tunnel clone (formerly color usage help thread)
« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2013, 01:09:06 am »
Ok so some updates!

I managed to solve the issue with the intro transition only displaying partially or not at all and I also finally moved everything from G0 to G1, so that I can update the entire screen content at once via BLIT. The max speed dropped from the totally unplayable 60+ FPS to something slightly above 50 FPS, but there's less tearing and there's no more flicker.

The next step will be to attempt getting rid of the For loop used to generate the road every frame and instead shift the screen around and only redraw the missing part of the road. To avoid copying the entire screen content twice, I might make G1 a bit larger in width. However, I will most likely go back to not updating the entire screen at once because I currently redraw the entire HUD every frame, which isn't efficient. In the future, the score will be once again be displayed directly to G0.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now implementing BLIT for more smoothness)
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2013, 11:01:58 pm »
Ok so my attempt a while ago to switch to DIMGROB was futile, but I found out that I was using INT in this game too, which is not the integer command we all think of. I got rid of them and now guess what: The game runs around 90 FPS on a real calc instead of 60! *.*
« Last Edit: December 03, 2013, 11:09:28 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now running at 90 FPS!)
« Reply #22 on: December 04, 2013, 12:23:25 am »
Wow, that's awesome DJ! :D

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now running at 90 FPS!)
« Reply #23 on: December 06, 2013, 01:19:16 pm »
Holy crap that's epic. O.O This calc keeps impressing me.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55835
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now running at 90 FPS!)
« Reply #24 on: December 06, 2013, 03:38:14 pm »
Thanks, and I can't imagine what can be done with the new polygon feature now, especially that it has alpha transparency support.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: [HP Prime] Tunnel update! (now running at 90 FPS!)
« Reply #25 on: December 09, 2013, 01:00:19 pm »
Yeah when TIm Wessman anounced it I knew that it'd be epic.