Author Topic: Getting a cx  (Read 3635 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Getting a cx
« on: March 11, 2014, 03:32:18 pm »
Hello everyone!

I was thinking of buying a used cx (non-cas) and then putting the cas os on it using ndless and nlaunch.  I do need the cas os but I also want to have a ordinary cx so that I could still take a class from teachers who prohibit cas's (I have a sense of pride so I won't use it to cheat on a test. ;) ).  So my question is is this a good idea?  I do not want to have to have two nspire calculators (one cas and one non-cas).  Has anyone done this kind of thing before?

I hope my question makes sense.  :/
« Last Edit: March 11, 2014, 03:34:25 pm by Aspiring »

Offline Vogtinator

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1192
  • Rating: +108/-5
  • Instruction counter
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2014, 05:47:56 pm »
Buying a cx cas wouldn't make a lot of sense as you couldn't use it at school.
I'd say go for dual boot with nlaunch, but put OS 3.6 non-cas on it so your teacher can see that you're not cheating.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2014, 06:04:16 pm »
Be sure to get a compatible hardware revision though when buying.
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2014, 06:18:52 pm »
Although doing that with a brand new calc will be impossible since you are not allowed to open the package in the store and you don't know what you are buying until you open it.

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2014, 06:20:32 pm »
Yeah, that could be hard in stores :P
But if you buy it second hand, then you can check. You can check the OS too (3.6 is more annoying to downgrade).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2014, 12:37:19 pm »
Thanks for your advice! I will get a non cas cx then and make sure it is between hardware revisions A-I.  (I have an arduino so I can reflash boot 2 if the calc comes with os 3.6).

One more question.  If the calc has os 3.2 or lower I can also assume that it is between hardware revisions A-I right?

Offline Vogtinator

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1192
  • Rating: +108/-5
  • Instruction counter
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2014, 12:45:58 pm »
If it has 3.1 on it it will work out-of-the-box. 3.2 runs on HW J and K as well, so that's not a reliable indicator.

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2014, 01:15:01 pm »
Thanks!  :D

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2014, 03:06:47 pm »
From what I understood, it also depends on which 3.2 you are talking about. 3.2.3 is more friendly (you can downgrade from it) but 3.2.4 is not (more friendly than 3.6, so with a good HW revision, you can still manage, but not as easily as with 3.1 or 3.2.3).
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Aspiring

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
  • Rating: +5/-0
  • The only source of knowledge is experience-Einsten
    • View Profile
Re: Getting a cx
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2014, 03:28:27 pm »
I think I understand.  If a cx is after hardware revision "I" then it is capable of running the boot 2 that is required for ndless.  So if a calc has an os below 3.2.4 it can for sure run ndless (but boot 2 may need to be reflashed).  I wonder what hackish thing TI had to pull off to make ndless boot2 not run but later boot2's run.  ??? <_<   Anyway... thanks again!