Author Topic: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?  (Read 19086 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2010, 09:48:50 pm »
Perhaps I should write a group undeleter then?
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2010, 09:51:01 pm »
There's a patch against PTT deleting groups (on this forum, in fact, by thepenguin77), but I think a separate tool would be useful.
It would also complement your Archive Utility/Undeleter programs for programs and appvars. :D
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline FloppusMaximus

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 290
  • Rating: +57/-5
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2010, 09:54:31 pm »
Yeah, it's pretty sneaky.

It's been a while since I looked at Push-To-Test.  I seem to remember that entering PTT mode deletes a lot of your variables, but perhaps not all of them.  So now I'm wondering if there's anything (other than modifying the OS) that you could do beforehand to guard yourself.  Does it disable hooks in RAM?  Does it disable ONSCRPT and OFFSCRPT?  What about creatively-corrupted VAT entries?

Offline BrandonW

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 115
  • Rating: +38/-1
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #18 on: November 15, 2010, 09:55:02 pm »
_SetAppRestrictions modifies the certificate to enable Press-to-Test, which is why RAM clears (or OS re-sends) have no effect.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2010, 09:56:54 pm »
Hm... Hooks are definitely gone. Going to the PTT menu and quitting without entering PTT mode kills all hooks anyway.
I'm not sure about your corrupted VAT entries, nor ONSCRPT and OFFSCRPT. ;D
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 09:57:03 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2010, 09:59:58 pm »
So basically, you press left, right, and on to start test mode?
I'm afraid to try this on my calc - what does this do, precisely?
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #21 on: November 15, 2010, 10:03:36 pm »
It brings up a menu from which you can start PTT mode.
It disable all apps and programs and prevents you from creating new ones. It also deletes all groups.
You end it by receiving a variable.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #22 on: November 15, 2010, 10:04:12 pm »
o.o
Any way to circumvent it?
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #23 on: November 15, 2010, 10:06:10 pm »
Install a patch. Several are on ticalc.org :)
We're discussing the scenario of if you don't have a link cable and how to possible work around it. (So far, no luck. :()
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #24 on: November 15, 2010, 10:08:51 pm »
Interesting - just tried it, and nothing is happening.  Do I have to press the keys in a particular order?
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #25 on: November 15, 2010, 10:09:57 pm »
Turn the calc off. Hold down left and right while pressing ON.
If it doesn't work, your OS version is too old or a patch is already installed somehow.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #26 on: November 15, 2010, 10:11:18 pm »
o.o  Cool.
I will stop asking n00b questions now.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #27 on: November 15, 2010, 10:28:37 pm »
I made a program that installs a counter push to test sequence. Up Down ON uninstalls it.

Umm... I'm not sure that this is the best of ideas, but here are all the programs that I have made that patch the OS:

-AboutFix: OS 2.43 Puts your name in the about screen. Re assemble it unless you want it to say "Owner: Brian Coventry"
-Addr series: OS 1.19, 2.43, 2.53fixes ERR:Bad address when grouping and ungrouping
-ChkSmFix: OS 2.43 Fixes the OS checksum (only necessary for 2.43 fixes)
-Mod253: OS 2.53, my pride and joy, Un PTT (UP DOWN ON), PTT deletes require [stat] also, about screen (be sure to recompile with your name), give back classic ram clear screen, fixes ERR:Bad Address, and PTT doesn't delete groups
-NoDel series: OS 2.43, 2.53, PTT doesn't delete groups
-UnPtt 1 and 2: OS 2.43, Run both to allow Un PTT with (UP DOWN ON)
-Versn series: OS 2.43, 2.53, Fixes error version on groups.

-Write flash templates: I'm feeling generous, don't make me regret it.

Some of these don't have OS version checks, so be sure you are doing it on the right OS.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #28 on: November 15, 2010, 10:32:40 pm »
Wow I was sure a RAM clear exited PTT mode. Does ON+DEL exit it?

Also Mapar007 was the one who wrote one of the PTT patches on ticalc.org.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 10:33:13 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: How can one remove a TI-84+(SE) from push-to-test mode with no link cable?
« Reply #29 on: November 15, 2010, 10:38:54 pm »
Nothing you can possibly do will fix it because it is stored in the certificate. A full mem clear won't do it. Even a delete OS, run flash test, reinstall operating system won't fix it. I guess the only thing aside from properly fixing it would be to delete the certificate.

However, PTT does have one fatal flaw, it doesn't disable OFFSCRPT. Which means, put bcall(_removeAppRestrictions) in OFFSCRPT and never worry again.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 10:48:39 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112