Author Topic: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)  (Read 79310 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #90 on: November 16, 2010, 06:18:10 pm »
When running an Nspire, having something on homescreen, swap keypads, boot, then swap back (I actively use both, surprisingly enough) and occasionally the homescreen will be partially  cleared, partially still full of text.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #91 on: November 16, 2010, 06:31:14 pm »
When sending programs to the TI-Nspire running OS 2.54MP, after the transfer, sometimes, a "2" appears at the blinking cursor location. ???

That sounds like textShadow didn't get cleared. If that ever happens again, try pressing [2nd] [mode]. If my guess is right, a whole bunch of text will appear on the screen.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #92 on: November 16, 2010, 07:54:07 pm »
This is strange nonetheless.

Another thing:

-Go in CLASSIC mode
-Type
(22222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222, but with about 40x more 2's
-Press ENTER
-Switch to MATHPRINT mode
-Exit to home screen.

Prepare for a LOOOOONG loading time. I wonder if with like 16 KB of 2's it can cause some sort of memory/stack overflow or the like?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #93 on: November 18, 2010, 04:56:56 pm »
lolz worse on the nspire even!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #94 on: November 19, 2010, 02:10:56 am »
Ouch, I haven't tried it because I was scared of bad stuff happening.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #95 on: November 20, 2010, 07:44:53 pm »
This is strange nonetheless.

Another thing:

-Go in CLASSIC mode
-Type
(22222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222, but with about 40x more 2's
-Press ENTER
-Switch to MATHPRINT mode
-Exit to home screen.

Prepare for a LOOOOONG loading time. I wonder if with like 16 KB of 2's it can cause some sort of memory/stack overflow or the like?
I tried it with a string about 1/3 of RAM. It took a long time (5-10 minutes, possibly more), but it worked.
Sadly, there is no way to break the recalling of a string/etc. :/
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Juju

  • Incredibly sexy mare
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 5730
  • Rating: +500/-19
  • Weird programmer
    • View Profile
    • juju2143's shed
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #96 on: November 20, 2010, 08:09:02 pm »
Here's some glitch I discovered in high school.

You must have CtlgHelp installed, tested on TI-83+, OS 1.19.

- Press 2nd RCL
- Press 2nd CATALOG
- Pick a function with a rather long name and press + to go in help
- Type random characters until you get a checkered cursor
- Press F4 to paste
- You should now get a glitched screen. (Press 2nd ON or CLEAR to quit without harming your calc.)
- Press ENTER (optionally after having typed some random characters)
- If you're (un)lucky, you get an even weirder glitched screen leading to a RAM CLEAR.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2010, 08:12:42 pm by juju2143 »

Remember the day the walrus started to fly...

I finally cleared my sig after 4 years you're happy now?
THEGAME
This signature is ridiculously large you've been warned.

The cute mare that used to be in my avatar is Yuki Kagayaki, you can follow her on Facebook and Tumblr.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #97 on: November 21, 2010, 01:14:54 am »
This is strange nonetheless.

Another thing:

-Go in CLASSIC mode
-Type
(22222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222, but with about 40x more 2's
-Press ENTER
-Switch to MATHPRINT mode
-Exit to home screen.

Prepare for a LOOOOONG loading time. I wonder if with like 16 KB of 2's it can cause some sort of memory/stack overflow or the like?
I tried it with a string about 1/3 of RAM. It took a long time (5-10 minutes, possibly more), but it worked.
Sadly, there is no way to break the recalling of a string/etc. :/
Ah ok. I was not sure if it would crash or something. It's insane that it takes this long, though. I think they should have made the calc automatically switch to classic mode when displaying that many nested parhentesises...
Here's some glitch I discovered in high school.

You must have CtlgHelp installed, tested on TI-83+, OS 1.19.

- Press 2nd RCL
- Press 2nd CATALOG
- Pick a function with a rather long name and press + to go in help
- Type random characters until you get a checkered cursor
- Press F4 to paste
- You should now get a glitched screen. (Press 2nd ON or CLEAR to quit without harming your calc.)
- Press ENTER (optionally after having typed some random characters)
- If you're (un)lucky, you get an even weirder glitched screen leading to a RAM CLEAR.
Wow, I never noticed that before. I guess it's a good thing to know if you use CtlgHelp. I used it before because I couldn't remember syntax for commands and I was lucky to not have any crashes, since I was often running low on RAM.

I'll probably not add it to the first post, though, since it's mostly for OS-only glitches (no APP/ASM libs)
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #98 on: December 06, 2010, 02:15:14 pm »
Yikes, i just had this do horrible things.  set Y1=e^(X^2), Y2=nDeriv(Y1,X,X), Y3=nDeriv(Y2,X,X), Y4=nDeriv(Y3,X,X), and Y5=nDeriv(Y4,X,X).  Then on the homescreen do Y5(0).  I got a RESETING... message.  I promptly pulled my batteries, and put them back in.... Grabage Collecting ??? I only lost a small test program in archive and RAM, and was able to replicate it several times with fresh RAM clears.  Whats going on??
« Last Edit: December 06, 2010, 06:45:56 pm by Builderboy »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8209
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #99 on: December 06, 2010, 02:19:14 pm »
Wow, what OS is that? 83+1.19 gave me 2.000004, as expected.




Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #100 on: December 06, 2010, 02:21:05 pm »
Ti84+SE 2.43

And the correct 5th derivative should be more around 12 i believe.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #101 on: December 06, 2010, 03:40:23 pm »
O.O

Strange, it works fine for me on 83+ OS 1.19 too... 84+ glitch?

EDIT: Tested on TI-84+ OS 2.54MP: cannot reproduce crash.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2010, 03:50:48 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #102 on: December 06, 2010, 03:59:42 pm »
I can't replicate it with 2.53 or 2.43. Can you do it on wabbitEmu?
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #103 on: December 06, 2010, 04:15:10 pm »
Yikes!  Wow.
Are you running ZStart or any OS patches?

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8209
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #104 on: December 06, 2010, 06:39:31 pm »
Ti84+SE 2.43

And the correct 5th derivative should be more around 12 i believe.

Y2, Y3, Y4, and Y5 are the same in your post, btw ;)

Still can't get that bug... I'll try it on Wabbit later. As ztrumpet said, any hooks/OS patches?