Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 496218 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1395 on: October 23, 2010, 09:10:23 pm »
Would 768 add garbage at the bottom, though? I guess he could maybe do a Fill() afterward
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1396 on: October 23, 2010, 09:10:55 pm »
DJ Omnimaga is correct. one minor thing though is you would do Copy(GDB0,L6,768) instead of Copy(GDB0,L6,756). if you merely want to display the picture, you can also do Pic#->DispGraph.
Well, that depends. If you stored the picture on calc, it'll only be 767 bytes in the memory menu, and you'll want to use Copy(GDB0,L6,756) because the 64th row is undefined. If you sent it from the computer, it might be 779 bytes in the memory menu, then you can use Copy(GBD0,L6,768) because the pic will contain the 64th row.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1397 on: October 23, 2010, 09:12:16 pm »
Oh sending it to the comp increases its size? I totally forgot that was how I created 779 bytes files in the past...
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1398 on: October 24, 2010, 09:37:01 am »
I'm pretty sure you can make it bigger, but I doubt all pictures sent from a comp are automatically changed to 779...
« Last Edit: October 24, 2010, 09:44:00 am by Deep Thought »




Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1399 on: October 24, 2010, 09:38:46 am »
If you define rhe 64th row in the picture then send it, it should be 779 bytes.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1400 on: October 24, 2010, 09:20:49 pm »
I'm pretty sure you can make it bigger, but I doubt all pictures sent from a comp are automatically changed to 779...
Years ago I remember something about xLIB being able to create pictures as large as 2048 bytes, but then tr1p1ea changed it so sprite 96-192 is feteched from the next pic and 193 to 255 from the other one after. He thought about allowing using sprite/tile IDs up to 65536 but I forgot if he finally did. It has been so long since I last used xLIB.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline BlackRabbit

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1401 on: October 24, 2010, 09:33:49 pm »
Thanks for the info. This will make my life a lot easier. Thank you everybody.   :D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1402 on: October 25, 2010, 12:34:08 am »
No problem. We're glad to help. :)

Are you planning any projects in particular by the way? :)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1403 on: October 25, 2010, 06:45:51 pm »
I'm not sure if this is a bug, intentional, or what, but something interesting I just discovered: lowercase letters not in a string act like a period and turn the rest of the line into a comment. I don't see much of a use to this, but I found out when I was trying to optimize a program by changing a Fill() command to Copy(). The size savings when I did were much larger than I expected, so I was questioning how that was possible with the change I just made. I was using the TI Program Editor bundled with older versions of TI Connect to write the program, and I realized that I had literally written "Copy(" when the actual command was "conj(" which would explain some things. But I found it odd that it actually parsed successfully, treating the first "C" as the variable C and ignoring the rest of the line.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1404 on: October 25, 2010, 06:52:10 pm »
Wow, that's weird. Maybe it treats all invalid chars starting a line as a dot?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1405 on: October 25, 2010, 07:39:17 pm »
I'm not sure if this is a bug, intentional, or what, but something interesting I just discovered: lowercase letters not in a string act like a period and turn the rest of the line into a comment. I don't see much of a use to this, but I found out when I was trying to optimize a program by changing a Fill() command to Copy(). The size savings when I did were much larger than I expected, so I was questioning how that was possible with the change I just made. I was using the TI Program Editor bundled with older versions of TI Connect to write the program, and I realized that I had literally written "Copy(" when the actual command was "conj(" which would explain some things. But I found it odd that it actually parsed successfully, treating the first "C" as the variable C and ignoring the rest of the line.

That's TI-Connect-side, right?
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 07:39:26 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1406 on: October 25, 2010, 09:04:22 pm »
I'm not sure if this is a bug, intentional, or what, but something interesting I just discovered: lowercase letters not in a string act like a period and turn the rest of the line into a comment. I don't see much of a use to this, but I found out when I was trying to optimize a program by changing a Fill() command to Copy(). The size savings when I did were much larger than I expected, so I was questioning how that was possible with the change I just made. I was using the TI Program Editor bundled with older versions of TI Connect to write the program, and I realized that I had literally written "Copy(" when the actual command was "conj(" which would explain some things. But I found it odd that it actually parsed successfully, treating the first "C" as the variable C and ignoring the rest of the line.

That's TI-Connect-side, right?

What would be TI-Conncect-side? It doesn't matter where the source came from, lowercase letters are parsed like periods.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1407 on: October 25, 2010, 09:11:31 pm »
In SourceCoder, I believe that if you type Copy, it recognize it as conj, so such thing may not happen in SourceCoder.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1408 on: October 25, 2010, 09:17:42 pm »
In SourceCoder, I believe that if you type Copy, it recognize it as conj, so such thing may not happen in SourceCoder.

The test I just did with SourceCoder disagrees with this. That would prevent you from typing the literal string "Copy" and SourceCoder isn't designed to be an Axe source editor anyways.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 09:19:20 pm by Runer112 »

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1409 on: October 25, 2010, 09:36:14 pm »
Runer, I can't replicate that effect, it just throws a BAD SYMBOL at the 'o' for me as I would expect.  What version are you using?
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!