Author Topic: Bug Reports  (Read 404197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #915 on: November 15, 2010, 12:44:11 am »
EDIT 2: Oh, and in the commands list you accidentally call EXP1**EXP2 signed multiplication instead of fixed point multiplication.
It actually is a signed fixed-point multiplication. The list doesn't say "fixed-point" in so many words, though it does describe the type of number it is.

You're right, there's definitely some signed stuff going on here. But it's a good thing you pointed this out, because now that I look into it more, it appears that the routine itself is buggy. For instance, ᴇ0400**ᴇ2000 evaluates to ᴇ8000, although, it should be ᴇ0000 signed. It seems to be a problem with signed overflows not carrying properly. As another example, ᴇ0410**ᴇ2000 evaluates to ᴇ7E00, although it should be ᴇ0200.

Although it may work perfectly and I'm just misunderstanding how it's supposed to work.
Signed overflows don't wrap around to 0, they wrap around to -128. I do think that the ᴇ7E00 should be ᴇ8200, though. But at any rate, you should be making sure it doesn't overflow anyway.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #916 on: November 15, 2010, 12:51:02 am »
I realize that signed overflows wrap like that natively, but for this purpose it isn't the desired outcome. Multiplying two positive numbers and getting a negative number seems less practical than getting a clipped positive number.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #917 on: November 16, 2010, 11:43:28 am »
Quote from: calc84maniac
Apparently Axe does not like a !If / ElseIf / ... / End block, or !If / Else!If / ... / End. Basically, a !If cannot start an ElseIf chain. It gives ERR:BLOCK.

Oh, that's how it happened! I got that ERR:BLOCK too, but I couldn't find what caused it.




Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #918 on: November 19, 2010, 11:49:27 am »
Here's a fun one:
  • Open up the compile menu
  • Make sure you have a total of at most 6 items in the list, and that at least one is a backup
  • Scroll to the last item in the list, which should be a backup
  • Press "B" as if to back it up
  • Try to scroll down, although you're already at the bottom of the list
  • Succeed in scrolling down to an empty entry!

For extra fun, try to compile/backup/restore the empty entry! (Unfortunately no epic crashes, just an error message)
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 11:52:07 am by Runer112 »

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #919 on: November 19, 2010, 01:59:05 pm »
^ Nothing happens when I try doing that (you're saying, press APPS while selecting the last item in the list which is a backup file, right?)

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #920 on: November 19, 2010, 04:19:48 pm »
Yeah, when selecting the last item in the last (#RANDSRC in this case), press B, and then press down. Trying to compile, backup, or restore the blank entry will all result in an error message.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 04:20:59 pm by Runer112 »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #921 on: November 19, 2010, 05:49:25 pm »
Strange. X.x

At least it doesn't seem as bad as the bug involving the ! and # programs in MirageOS 1.1 (horrible stuff happened if you archived those, requring both RAM and archive to be reset)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #922 on: November 19, 2010, 06:15:55 pm »
Oh my bad, I read "have at most 6 programs" as "have at least 6 programs." I think I have about 100 items in my Axe compile menu x.x

edit: woo, 22^2'd post
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 06:16:38 pm by squidgetx »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #923 on: November 21, 2010, 12:21:49 pm »
Another bug report: I've never compiled an app before, so I tried it once with a 3 KB program (just to see what it's like). It compiled normally, but when it started writing to an app, Axe suddenly froze. I waited 3 minutes, because I really had no idea how long it usually took to make an app, but I figured it was probably frozen and pulled a battery. Pretty scary considering Axe was writing to flash at the time, but thankfully all I got was a RAM clear.

Info: I'm using a TI-83 Plus OS 1.19 with Axe 0.4.4 to compile a 3 KB (exec) program into an app. The source was split into 9 programs (one main program and 8 subs). I had 80 KB of free archive space, but since my last garbagecollect was several weeks ago (and the one I did right after the RAM clear took quite a while), I think my archive space was just about filled at the time. Should I try again now that I've garbagecollected to see how it works now?




Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #924 on: November 21, 2010, 12:23:14 pm »
That happened to me before. Garbage collecting didn't work, but after I deleted some app and the calc defragg'd, it worked. Is defragmenting different from garbagecollecting ???

Also, I was using 84+SE 2.53MP 0.4.5 with a 9k program split into several parts
« Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 12:24:02 pm by squidgetx »

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #925 on: November 21, 2010, 12:27:06 pm »
That happened to me before. Garbage collecting didn't work, but after I deleted some app and the calc defragg'd, it worked. Is defragmenting different from garbagecollecting ???

Weird, what's the difference?

EDIT: Okay, just tried it again after garbagecollecting, and it ... worked. Huh ???
« Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 12:28:18 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #926 on: November 21, 2010, 02:39:09 pm »
Defragmenting and garbage collecting are the same thing, but in different regions in the ROM.  Garbage collecting happens in the general archive where you keep programs and stuff, but defragmenting happens on the app space and swaps entire pages at a time.

Right now, I only force a defragmentation when overwriting an existing app.  But now that I've got a few of these reports, it might be better to always defragment, just in case.  I know it takes a while sometimes, but writing to flash is scary so I'd rather be safe than sorry.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #927 on: November 21, 2010, 06:45:45 pm »
Defragmenting and garbage collecting are the same thing, but in different regions in the ROM.  Garbage collecting happens in the general archive where you keep programs and stuff, but defragmenting happens on the app space and swaps entire pages at a time.

Right now, I only force a defragmentation when overwriting an existing app.  But now that I've got a few of these reports, it might be better to always defragment, just in case.  I know it takes a while sometimes, but writing to flash is scary so I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Agreed, and if possible could you add more updates while it's making the app? Like Defragmenting... when it's defragmenting and a % counter while it's actually writing the app.




Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #928 on: November 21, 2010, 07:06:49 pm »
I could make a counter for the app writing if you don't mind it taking about 20% longer, but I can't for the defragmenting because that's done by the OS.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports
« Reply #929 on: November 21, 2010, 07:16:02 pm »
quick question.

Could you make a program preferably an app that will just defrag the calc?
I have had errors where i was forced to delete an app to cause a defragmentation to fix the problem.

School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________