• Features Wishlist 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 615083 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1590 on: November 25, 2010, 12:24:41 pm »
I thought the Asm( is for raw hex assembly codes only.
Sig wipe!

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1591 on: November 25, 2010, 12:26:43 pm »
ASM programs are, essentially, hex. though i just realized it won't work because it'll try to read the prgmCOMPILED as source code.


Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1592 on: November 25, 2010, 09:23:43 pm »
If Asm(prgmNAME) is supported, could there be risks of conflicts?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1593 on: November 25, 2010, 09:29:32 pm »
This is only in Axe source ;)
However, including compiled code is just a bad idea (pre-compiled code won't run correctly), and to include source, we already have prgmPROGRAM.
As for including BASIC programs, I'm curious why you'd need that. Could you elaborate?
Note: This post to me seems it might be bordering on offensive. I do not mean it as such.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2010, 09:29:56 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1594 on: November 26, 2010, 12:47:56 am »
Ah, right. I wasn't sure. As for BASIC the issue is that when executed, it could mess thing up in your program when it goes back to ASM/Axe commands, since TI-BASIC messes with TI-OS data a lot. You may not even be able to use the back buffer and buffer when certain BASIC commands are used.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1595 on: November 26, 2010, 05:13:06 pm »
Ok, I have a feature 'wish':

When the parser runs into certain errors, mainly the Missing Label, Undefined, and Duplicate errors, could there be an option to 'skip' that line of code when compiling? As in, if this option was chosen, the line containing the offending error would be ignored completely by the parser (as if it were prefixed by a period) Error messages would then have a menu accompanying them (sort of like BASIC) with Quit, Goto, and Skip (if applicable)

This sounds kind of hard though, and so it's ok if it's not really realistically possible, but thanks anyway :P

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1596 on: November 26, 2010, 05:17:44 pm »
But ignoring errors would cause a bad program to be produced. I don't think we would want that.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1597 on: November 26, 2010, 05:53:57 pm »
Well, I think that in many situations, the user doesn't care immediately whether a certain piece of data will be included or not. Maybe they were typing quickly while making, for example, a menu, and defined Str1 twice :P But they really just want to test whether the code works and won't care if Str1 is defined incorrectly, and so this might make some debugging a little faster (maybe)

I hope I explained it well enough x.x

Also, I have another request/question: When you use InData(), the data is zero-terminated, but it seems that the 0 is included in the data to be searched: For example, if A=0, and you ran InData(A,Data(1,2,3,0)), it would return 4...Is it supposed to be like this? I think it might be better if the 0 was not included in the data to be searched...

Offline jnesselr

  • King Graphmastur
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2270
  • Rating: +81/-20
  • TAO == epic
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1598 on: November 26, 2010, 05:58:32 pm »
I can understand try and catch, but if they have some syntax error (maybe they have Str1 where it should be Str2) they need to know of it immediately.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1599 on: November 26, 2010, 06:57:18 pm »
Also, I have another request/question: When you use InData(), the data is zero-terminated, but it seems that the 0 is included in the data to be searched: For example, if A=0, and you ran InData(A,Data(1,2,3,0)), it would return 4...Is it supposed to be like this? I think it might be better if the 0 was not included in the data to be searched...

Exactly.  You generally don't want to search for the zero case.  Usually what you do is handle that separately and then when you're sure the byte is non-zero, then use the inData() search.  Although you can search for it if you don't mind it being part of your data since I don't treat zero as a special case.  The reason it's setup this way is because I'm trying to use the smallest code with the fastest speed, and this was most efficient.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 06:58:00 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline tehalynn

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1600 on: November 29, 2010, 12:50:21 am »
I have a couple suggestions I think would save a little time when compiling.

1. On the compile screen, sort programs by most recently compiled. The most recently compiled program is at the top.
2. Have a way to automatically run programs after they're compiled. This could be an option, or just a different key to press (instead of enter). I guess this would only work if you're compiling for no shell though.

If both of these suggestions are made, then it should only take 2 keystrokes within Axe to compile and run whichever program you compiled last.

An alternate (or additional) idea is to have a button that compiles and runs the most recently compiled program from the main screen. That would only take 1 keystroke within Axe.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 12:54:10 am by tehalynn »

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1601 on: November 29, 2010, 08:47:36 am »
I have a couple suggestions I think would save a little time when compiling.

1. On the compile screen, sort programs by most recently compiled. The most recently compiled program is at the top.
2. Have a way to automatically run programs after they're compiled. This could be an option, or just a different key to press (instead of enter). I guess this would only work if you're compiling for no shell though.

If both of these suggestions are made, then it should only take 2 keystrokes within Axe to compile and run whichever program you compiled last.

An alternate (or additional) idea is to have a button that compiles and runs the most recently compiled program from the main screen. That would only take 1 keystroke within Axe.

I like those ideas, it'd be very fast to code/compile/test repeatedly.

Also, I don't know if this would ever be possible, but Axe inside Doors? For example, I program in Doors sometimes and I have to change Application to compile :( This is a very weird thing, but maybe you could find a way of getting throught it, Quigibo.

Nevertheless, it's good to see you're hearing to our prays in this long, long topic

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1602 on: November 29, 2010, 04:31:27 pm »
I will probably do that; have a pointer in the app that points to a special parsing routine so that external programs like DCS can automatically know where to jump into the app to "externally" use Axe without having to quit the original application.  This is something that Kerm would have to add to DCS, and I'm sure he would if you request it, but I haven't added that functionality to Axe Parser yet.  However, its definitely planned.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1603 on: November 29, 2010, 07:05:11 pm »
I will probably do that; have a pointer in the app that points to a special parsing routine so that external programs like DCS can automatically know where to jump into the app to "externally" use Axe without having to quit the original application.  This is something that Kerm would have to add to DCS, and I'm sure he would if you request it, but I haven't added that functionality to Axe Parser yet.  However, its definitely planned.

Would it work with ASM programs? Can't wait for that :D




Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #1604 on: November 29, 2010, 08:31:46 pm »
Feature request:being able to sign app more than 16384 bytes.
Sig wipe!