• Features Wishlist 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 253486 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2820 on: December 13, 2011, 07:44:53 pm »
Yays :D You might as well make the program selection menu graphscreen and small font while you're at it :]

Offline thydowulays

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Rating: +12/-1
  • Don't gimme dat lip
    • View Profile
    • Thy Gaming Forum
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2821 on: December 14, 2011, 04:42:16 pm »
I think it would be amazing if you could have a thing in the options menu that would say something like Auto-Execute. That would execute your program under whichever shell you compiled it under right after compiling it. Its just an idea :)
Current Projects:
-Sparta GUI Library: 25% - Alpha Stage
-Grapher - 75% - Beta Stage *on hiatus




Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2822 on: December 15, 2011, 12:55:56 am »
I think it would be amazing if you could have a thing in the options menu that would say something like Auto-Execute. That would execute your program under whichever shell you compiled it under right after compiling it. Its just an idea :)
That would be great for testing. However, there are problems: a lot of pepole don't use shells (so that would be impossible) and another lot of people compile for Ion for compatibility reasons, but I don't think people still use Ion ;) (except that one guy I met at school O.O)
Moreover, that would be a very heavy feature.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 12:56:23 am by Hayleia »
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2823 on: December 15, 2011, 03:24:00 am »
Request: (I already posted this earlier)
Array support PLEASE!
Arrays would be like this:
Height(2bytes),Width(2bytes),Array
And then call the data with Array(Ptr,X,Y)

Is that feasible?
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2824 on: December 15, 2011, 04:04:58 am »
A random access array is too complicated to implement and wouldn't be as efficient as accessing native Axe data so I don't think you will see that soon unless I have some new revelation.  However, an expandable table of fixed size objects that only needs iterative access you will see in the near future because this is both simpler to program and can be made equally or more efficient than current native methods.  I also feel that out of all the data structures, this is used the most by Axe programmers.

EDIT: In the future if I support macros, writing your own array accessing like your example would be pretty simple.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 04:07:08 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2825 on: December 15, 2011, 04:40:55 am »
Uh, what do you mean with
Quote
an expandable table of fixed size objects that only needs iterative access
?
Please elaborate on that.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2826 on: December 15, 2011, 05:17:26 am »
I can't elaborate much because I don't know the exact specifications for it yet since its still in planning stages.  But basically a table is a data structure with objects.  There will be a special iterator loop structure, probably something similar in syntax to "For([A])".  You can add, remove, access, and modify only the current object from the iteration.  Order cannot matter during the iteration because the positions might change around during these operations.  You can access the Nth data byte of your custom objects, but you cannot access the Nth object because this would be unstable during the above operations and it requires a multiply.

This is all speculation so far.  I might also have to introduce the concept of "binders" to make this nestable.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2827 on: December 15, 2011, 05:19:53 am »
Just like an array you can't change?   <_<
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2828 on: December 15, 2011, 05:29:05 am »
You can change it as much as you want.  It just has to be read in order, not arbitrarily.  Enforcing this leads to HUGE optimizations in size and speed, plus it makes coding clean and compact.  If you need to access an X,Y pair you should be using a 2d array structure instead.  What this is more similar to is an object List (java), Table (SQL), or Vector (C++).
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3913
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2829 on: December 15, 2011, 05:29:38 am »
Aha. Thanks.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline LincolnB

  • Check It Out Now
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1115
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • By Hackers For Hackers
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2830 on: December 15, 2011, 09:32:58 am »
In the poll, what is meant by "Better UI Features"?
Completed Projects:
   >> Spacky Emprise   >> Spacky 2 - Beta   >> Fantastic Sam
   >> An Exercise In Futility   >> GeoCore

My Current Projects:

Projects in Development:
In Medias Res - Contest Entry

Talk to me if you need help with Axe coding.


Spoiler For Bragging Rights:
Not much yet, hopefully this section will grow soon with time (and more contests)



Offline Happybobjr

  • James Oldiges
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2325
  • Rating: +128/-20
  • Howdy :)
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2831 on: December 15, 2011, 01:02:45 pm »
I always love faster code ;)
School: East Central High School
 
Axe: 1.0.0
TI-84 +SE  ||| OS: 2.53 MP (patched) ||| Version: "M"
TI-Nspire    |||  Lent out, and never returned
____________________________________________________________

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2832 on: December 15, 2011, 01:18:52 pm »
idk if it's possible or not, but can you add a "hittest" for object-object(sprites)?
Sig wipe!

Offline Keoni29

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2466
  • Rating: +291/-16
    • View Profile
    • My electronics projects at 8times8
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2833 on: December 15, 2011, 01:24:13 pm »
The frequency which Freq() generated is different on each calculator. Is there a way to tune it easily or do we need an updated Freq command for that?
If you like my work: why not give me an internet?








Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #2834 on: December 15, 2011, 07:43:17 pm »
Maybe auto-backup for libraries.