• Features Wishlist 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 253496 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #435 on: April 08, 2010, 12:56:48 am »
really? I guess it might need some small tutorials with example, though, I guess

I can't wait ^^
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #436 on: April 08, 2010, 07:32:25 am »
That is AWESOME, Quigibo!

:D

FORGE FORWARD!
(Also, I offer my writing skills for the tutorials.)
« Last Edit: April 08, 2010, 07:34:20 am by Raylin »
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #437 on: April 09, 2010, 04:14:40 am »
Just want to take a little poll:

Should For() loops be signed or unsigned?  If they are unsigned, you can make loops as large as 65536 but you can not increment from a negative number to a positive one.  With signed For loops, you can do things like this:  For(A,-8,8) however it limits the maximum size to half of the unsigned max.  Also, the signed routine would probably be about 3-4 bytes larger each For loop and consequently slightly slower each iteration (usually negligible).  I could have an option to do either one, but I don't want it to get too confusing and I have no idea what type of syntax modifier I would use.  Maybe I can make the 'R' power thing the universal modifier where when you put it at the end of a command, it does the non-default version.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 04:16:23 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline mapar007

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 550
  • Rating: +28/-5
  • The Great Mata Mata
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #438 on: April 09, 2010, 05:52:38 am »
Mmmh... A hard choice. I think having it as an option is the best. (do you have support for optional arguments in statements? It might be the fifth argument of a For() instruction)

Offline Raylin

  • Godslayer
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1392
  • Rating: +83/-25
  • I am a certifiable squirrel ninja.
    • View Profile
    • Ray M. Perry
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #439 on: April 09, 2010, 08:12:19 am »
^++
Agreed and seconded.
Optional unsigned For( loops.
Bug me about my book.

Sarah: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Cassie: TI-86 [OS 1.XX]
Elizabeth: TI-81 [OS 1.XX]
Jehuty: TI-83 Plus Silver Edition [OS 1.19]
Tesla: CASIO Prizm







Offline mapar007

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 550
  • Rating: +28/-5
  • The Great Mata Mata
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #440 on: April 09, 2010, 08:17:13 am »
Yup, unsignedness should be the optional setting. You rarely need to go over 32K in a loop.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #441 on: April 09, 2010, 08:39:33 am »
I like the idea of making R the universal modifier.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #442 on: April 09, 2010, 09:22:50 am »
Maybe optional, altough I personally may not mind if unsigned is not supported. For which thing in particular would you need numbers higher than 32767 in For loops ?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #443 on: April 09, 2010, 10:29:02 am »
And if you really really needed to go higher than 32767 you could just do

For(F,-32767,32767

And you would get the full range there :)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #444 on: April 09, 2010, 04:14:29 pm »
The range is the least of my concerns.  The increase in file size is what I'm worried about because It will make all programs bigger that use for loops.  I think I will use a modifier to make it optional, probably the R again.  From now on, the R will stand for "Revised" and be a slight modification of the original command.

For instance, adding it to the end of any drawing command makes it do grayscale drawing instead of regular.  I'm sure I will find more uses for it soon as well.

Another thing I wanted to mention is that for signed math, I think I will make the default unsigned instead of my original idea of making it signed by default.  I have chosen this way for the following reasons

  • Unsigned routines are faster and smaller than signed, so they should be used by default if sign doesn't make a difference.
  • Older Axe programs do not need to be modified to accommodate the new behavior of signed math.
  • It make it easier on me with less modification on the parser :P

But the first of these reasons is the most important.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2010, 04:19:23 pm by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #445 on: April 09, 2010, 04:18:15 pm »
I would go with what is smaller in size, or if adding the option to use alternatives won't increase the compiled program size, add options too.

I didn't knew unsigned was faster and smaller. I guess you should probably make them all default. You should also mention in the doc that signed will make the program larger so people are aware of that.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #446 on: April 11, 2010, 12:45:46 am »
Feature suggestion and question:

1) It would be nice if there was a command to return 0 if the calc it's ran on is a regular 83+, 1 if it's a 83+SE, 2 if it's a 84+ and 3 if it's a 84+SE.

2) What do you mean by "Switch statement" in the features wishlist? I think I heard it mentionned before but I totally forgot x.x
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2896
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #447 on: April 11, 2010, 12:49:18 am »
2) What do you mean by "Switch statement" in the features wishlist? I think I heard it mentionned before but I totally forgot x.x
It is meant to replace a bunch of If/Else statements with A=0, A=1, A=2, A=3, etc, replaced with a faster and smaller solution (or something like that)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #448 on: April 11, 2010, 12:50:54 am »
mhmm ok, would this make the compiled code smaller?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #449 on: April 11, 2010, 12:52:01 am »
The switch statement is this:  Sometimes you have data you want to be loaded, or specific things to do under specific circumstances.  Usualy you have to do this with a list of If statements like this:

Code: [Select]
If A=1
Blah
End
If A=2
Blalala
End
If A=3
Bluhuh
End
If A=4
Wooo
End
If A=5
Rickroll
End
If A=6
Grrrr
End

but with a switch statement you could do something like this

Code: [Select]
Switch(A)
1:Bla
2:Woooo
3:Grrrr
4:Rickroll
5:Chocolate rain
6:Lobser
End

Which is a lot easier on the eyes :) Although it probably would have zero affect on compiled size or speed.  Normaly it is just a feature to make things look nice