Author Topic: New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.  (Read 10482 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Speler

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 857
  • Rating: +6/-2
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« on: November 16, 2006, 03:08:00 pm »
Everything here uses ZoomStandard.

Lately I have done alot of experementing with using Y functions for full screen graphics.  I found that you can actually make very fast and fairly memory efficiant graphics using nothing but Y commands (Y1, Y2 etc).  Here is a list of several things that can be done:

Brick Wall:
First set to mode Simul and store 8 to xRes, now store -10(X-20 to Y1 -10 to Y2 and -10 to Y3.  Select the graph style that looks like an upside down staircase.  Hit graph.  You have a Brick Wall.  This can be used in program.

Grayscale Bug
This can be used in a program but I can't see any real way to... anywho:  use all the same settings as for the brick wall (including the upside down staircase's) except graph different things.  -10(X-20)/(X<8 to Y1 and -10(X<8 to Y2.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2006, 04:10:00 pm »
interesting find :)smile.gif
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Speler

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 857
  • Rating: +6/-2
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2006, 04:10:00 pm »
Thanks.

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2006, 09:38:00 am »
Woah that's pretty sweet and awesome find. These are the kind of advances we need

For the brick wall you could set those -10's to 0's so that half the screen is bricks and that is like a background to a room or something

Another thing is yes I noticed this grayscale bug before and it is like wierd cause if you put that stuff you said for grayscale into the graphing screen and graph it then you'll notice on the last line of vertical pixels that it will be flickerless grayscale which is very wierd
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline Radical Pi

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1143
  • Rating: +5/-2
    • View Profile
    • RealityRevolution
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2006, 10:10:00 am »
Great job documenting these!
The 'grayscale bug' I have noticed, but only when trying to get different shades of blue with the fast contrast setting (it works there too. Try setting the left half of the graphscreen all black, right half clear, and run the bluescale loop. You get Perfect gray and blue!)
One of these days I'll get a sig I'm really proud of.

Offline dinhotheone

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 410
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2006, 07:01:00 am »
that is so sweet, im going to have to look up simulate mode in the manual to figure out how it works tho

Offline bfr

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 819
  • Rating: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • bfr's website
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2006, 11:20:00 am »
dinhotheone:  Simulate mode?  Of of the top of me head, I'm not completely sure, but I think that it's simultaneaus (sp?) mode, meaning that it graphcs equations simultaneausly, or at the same time.

Super_Speler:  Nice work!   :thumbup:google.gif

elfprince13

  • Guest
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2006, 02:32:00 pm »
psuedo local variables for recursion:
  keep a list with the variable name you want, and an index variable measuring your recursion depth. every time you enter a routine that needs the local variable increase the index variable and push onto the variable list with augment{(L)VARNM,{VAL}). every time you exit, decrease the index variable and pop off the variable list with indexvar->dim((L)VARNM

you can access the local variable with (L)VARNM(indexvar)

Offline dinhotheone

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 410
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2006, 03:51:00 pm »
Ya i didn't really put the correct ending to the abreviation. I understand now.
plus i can't feel to bad since it was an extreme programmer that corrected me. not just one of the regular ones.

Offline Halifax

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1334
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
    • TI-Freakware
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2006, 12:24:00 am »
This is always something that has annoyed me and I figured I should say it. Shouldnt TI call it concurrently cause it doesn't do it simultaneously. It searches ever vertical row for if a pixel should be on
There are 10 types of people in this world-- those that can read binary, and those that can't.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2006, 07:17:00 am »
moved to calc help and support and pinned
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Netham45

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2103
  • Rating: +213/-4
  • *explodes*
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2007, 12:24:00 pm »
I found this earlier:
c1-->
CODE
ec1
for(a,0,1000)
If G=1
Then
getkey
end
end
c2
ec2
too roughly 10 seconds longer than this:
c1
-->
CODE
ec1
for(a,0,1000)
1->g
while g=1
getkey
->g
end
end
c2
ec2
Omnimaga Admin

Offline JonimusPrime

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 389
  • Rating: +25/-5
    • View Profile
    • Jonimoose.net
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2007, 03:12:00 am »
So While is faster than if then That is an awesome find.

"Always code as if the person who will maintain your code is a maniac serial killer that knows where you live" -Unknown

"If you've done something right no one will know that you've done anything at all" -Futurama

"Have a nice day, or not, the choice is yours." Tom Steiner

Offline Speler

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 857
  • Rating: +6/-2
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2007, 03:36:00 am »
Did you use StartTmr, a timer, or your own counting for the tests?

Offline dinhotheone

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 410
  • Rating: +2/-1
    • View Profile
New Tricks For Pure Basic Coders.
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2007, 03:59:00 am »
wow, thats pretty nasty, the only annoying part is that it might be a pain to break outa that while. i guess you could just do while condition and g, and then change g for it to work like a true if then