• Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread  (Read 94229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2898
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« on: February 14, 2014, 11:16:32 pm »
List of releases from newest to oldest:
TI-Boy CSE Alpha 0.0.03
TI-Boy CSE Alpha 0.0.02
TI-Boy CSE Alpha 0.0.01

Let's start this off with a release of TI-Boy CSE Alpha 0.0.01! For the uninitiated, this is a Game Boy emulator for the TI-84+ C Silver Edition (Game Boy Color is not supported).

At least for now, this will be a forum-only release in case I've made any terrible mistakes. (Hopefully not, but you never know!) I'd greatly appreciate feedback on any issues you may encounter.

Advantages over TI-Boy SE:
  • Displays the full 160x144 resolution of the Game Boy screen
  • 12 custom color palettes selectable, based on the palettes available for Game Boy games when played on the Game Boy Color
Disadvantages against TI-Boy SE:
  • A bit slower due to the 16-bit full-resolution graphics output.
  • No audio output support.
Next on the to-do list is probably to implement a proper fullscreen scaling mode. It's currently only half-implemented, with horizontal scaling but no vertical scaling.

Edit: Whoops, I forgot to compile makeapp statically. Updated, so reportedly it works now.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2014, 04:58:55 pm by calc84maniac »
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Spenceboy98

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 547
  • Rating: +59/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2014, 11:23:07 pm »
Can someone convert Pokemon Red for me (or any others that can be tested for fun)? I wanna try this on wabbit and my computer is missing a .dll file to convert. >:D

Nevermind. Doesn't work on Wabbit with Wabbit generated ROM. :/
« Last Edit: February 14, 2014, 11:36:38 pm by Spenceboy98 »
I like milk.

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Occasionally I make projects
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1731
  • Rating: +136/-23
  • dagaem
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2014, 11:53:29 pm »
Nevermind. Doesn't work on Wabbit with Wabbit generated ROM. :/

Geez, calc84, it's like wabbit isn't a real calc or something :P

On a less-trollish note, nice job! Just fix the monochrome makeapp before you get too into this, okay? :P
I am Bach.

Offline CalebHansberry

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
  • Rating: +14/-0
  • This is my personal text
    • View Profile
    • Skylites Computers
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2014, 02:05:11 am »
That's excellent news!
You should know, I am a Christian.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2014, 02:54:44 am »
I'll have to give it a go. :)

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2014, 03:37:56 am »
Great ! :D
Is there official incompatibilities with some games like Pokemon or are all games supposed to work (obviously some games don't work, but the question is are there games you are sure they don't work) ?
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2898
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2014, 11:57:05 am »
Great ! :D
Is there official incompatibilities with some games like Pokemon or are all games supposed to work (obviously some games don't work, but the question is are there games you are sure they don't work) ?
I don't happen to have a list of non-working games, no. I generally only test the games that are popular or ones I'm interested in, so I guess it's up to the community to find those incompatible games. :P
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline merthsoft

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 241
  • Rating: +63/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2014, 01:22:15 pm »
Figured I'd post the video I took over here, too:
Here's a video of me playing Pokemon:

The quality isn't that great, and I had to record in portrait mode, but it gets the idea across. Something I noticed, though which is evident if you watch the video the whole way through, is that it seems to slow down a bit.
Shaun

Offline rw24

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2014, 03:01:58 pm »
It's really good! I tried it with Pokemon. But the zoom isn't perfect, it is only sideways, and it doesn't save. Well, I thought I saved it... :(

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2898
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2014, 03:37:53 pm »
It's really good! I tried it with Pokemon. But the zoom isn't perfect, it is only sideways, and it doesn't save. Well, I thought I saved it... :(
It should be creating four appvars for the save file. (Just to make sure, you selected Save on the in-game menu before quitting?)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7918
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2014, 03:39:40 pm »
Looking awesome!
BTW, stickied :)

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2014, 04:37:26 pm »
Out of curiosity, how well does TI-Boy handle low RAM/ROM situations, particularly with regard to save variables?

EDIT: Also, I feel like I've asked this before, but why do you only let us use 7 characters for names of games that need 4 appvars? Can't you just overwrite the last letter of the name when creating save variables?
« Last Edit: February 15, 2014, 04:53:23 pm by Runer112 »

Offline rw24

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2014, 05:01:59 pm »
Well, I've tried saving it a couple times, and it creates appvars. But I'm not sure they're loading or something, because at the menu, all it says is "NEW GAME" and "OPTIONS"
It's really good! I tried it with Pokemon. But the zoom isn't perfect, it is only sideways, and it doesn't save. Well, I thought I saved it... :(
It should be creating four appvars for the save file. (Just to make sure, you selected Save on the in-game menu before quitting?)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55845
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2014, 05:16:19 pm »
Figured I'd post the video I took over here, too:
Here's a video of me playing Pokemon:

The quality isn't that great, and I had to record in portrait mode, but it gets the idea across. Something I noticed, though which is evident if you watch the video the whole way through, is that it seems to slow down a bit.
Looks very good. The slowdown is due to the limited hardware actually, plus since it's 16-bit color processing, it's even slower than the monochrome calc version.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2014, 05:42:40 pm »
No, I hit the same slowdown he hit. For some reason, the game runs a fair amount more slowly in Oak's lab than in other areas.

EDIT: Also, rw24 is absolutely correct. At least in Pokemon games, saving doesn't appear to work. In Pokemon Red, I'm positive I saved my game a couple of times before closing the emulator, checked that the appvars were there when going to start it up again, and lo and behold, no continue option. In Pokemon Silver, I got the continue option, but it told me the save was corrupted.

EDIT 2: Should I be getting garbage/data printed to the screen when I exit? For the past few times I've exited, I've gotten mostly white with some strips of random black and white pixels that looks like data, as well as some rows that look like the tree-like structure you get of sending the raw bytes 0-255 in a pattern to the screen.

EDIT 3: Is there any way that key polling could be improved? Quick key presses are often ignored.

EDIT 4: Feature request: saving emulator settings in an appvar. I know I can set the zoom mode, pick the palette, and set the frameskip on startup myself, but having it do those all automatically just seems a lot cleaner and nicer, especially if you get confused like I do about which palette or frame skip setting you actually decided on the last time you spent a minute or two carefully comparing them. And hopefully, there will be more cool features to come and their settings could go in there as well.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2014, 07:25:01 pm by Runer112 »