Author Topic: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port  (Read 15736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #75 on: January 16, 2013, 12:37:16 am »
Basically, Yeong used something like Goto Lbl "<<label","<<program>> to jump to a label in another program. That code must first search the VAT for the program, then it must search the program for the label. In Grammer, you have two options. If it isn't going to be called often, this is fine, but if you are going to use that label often, you should instead do something like:
Code: [Select]
Lbl "<<label","<<program>>→A
This way, the label address is precomputed and it your program doesn't have to constantly look for it.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #76 on: January 16, 2013, 06:50:17 pm »
Ah ok I see. Interesting, hopefully he can get the game to run faster now. In the worst case scenario, he could maybe remove grayscale.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #77 on: January 16, 2013, 08:06:11 pm »
Err xeda were there any changes between current version and the latest official (the one in may) version? Because after upgrading, my scrolling routine isn't working well
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #78 on: January 16, 2013, 08:19:09 pm »
There were quite a few, yes D: Which command or commands are messing up?

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #79 on: January 16, 2013, 08:36:29 pm »
Xeda do u remember my rol3 port? It uses a same routine. I don't think I use specific command though. Just reading data and conditionals.
Sig wipe!

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #80 on: January 16, 2013, 09:23:47 pm »
I looked at the ROL3 source, and the first thing that I noticed was that you used Lbl to find a label in another program... without supplying the program name.

Also, in the TILE subroutine, you don't need ClrDraw >.>

But the most important things that were going wrong was using unsupported tokens like ) and your math is kind of buggy. For example:
Code: [Select]
If H=4 *!(M+T'-W') *Y' *Y=4
I am surprised that worked in the old version o.o The faster and more optimised way (as well as the way that will work):
Code: [Select]
If (M+T'-W': and Y':! and Y=4: and H=4
Did it look like it was having bugs with wiggling back and forth and moving without a key being pressed? If so, after fixing up all of the math and logic, the ROL3 code worked for me.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #81 on: January 16, 2013, 10:52:30 pm »
ok. then it must be the random jiffy that Grammer likes to do in my calc. :< (randomly changing a bit of data in a program whenever something goes wrong)
« Last Edit: January 16, 2013, 10:52:39 pm by Yeong »
Sig wipe!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #82 on: January 16, 2013, 11:30:03 pm »
Hmm it might be a good idea to not constantly change the syntax of Grammer commands too much every version, because with Axe there were usually little changes, just additions, and for people who don't update often, changes might turn them away since they have to update every version D:
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #83 on: January 16, 2013, 11:32:31 pm »
The syntax didn't change, Yeong was using code that happened to work that shouldn't have :/

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #84 on: January 16, 2013, 11:45:03 pm »
Oh ok lol. I just remembered when Lua arrived on the Nspire and TI removed some important code like a function that allowed the usage of the serial port and its removal sparked some public outcry and broke compatibility with certain programs.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #85 on: January 17, 2013, 12:46:59 pm »
Finally figured out what went wrong with the routine. Apparently new grammer hates the space between maths and prefer colons more. So scrolling works again.

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #86 on: January 17, 2013, 05:34:13 pm »
Yeah, spaces should only be used for arguments for commands. For example, Pxl-On(3*X +4*Y,11. Colons are best everywhere else.

Also, as a tip, if something will only ever evaluate to 1 or 0, you can use " and ", " or ", and " xor " almost like you would in BASIC. This is a lot faster than the trick of using * or +. For example:
Code: [Select]
If A=3: and B=4

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #87 on: January 19, 2013, 11:03:06 pm »
2 days left and I'm panicking XD
Right now, I'm in stage of organizing my codes. Also, Chapter 1 event coding is done, now I just have to implement it :<
Sig wipe!

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #88 on: January 20, 2013, 12:14:21 am »
Don't panic. You are a decent coder. I have faith that you'll have a demo ready by the deadline. :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [Contest] Illusiat 11 Grammer Port
« Reply #89 on: January 20, 2013, 03:24:58 am »
Glad events are done coding. Hopefully you can put all you got together and add some more stuff before the deadline. :)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)