Author Topic: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs  (Read 12337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thydowulays

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Rating: +12/-1
  • Don't gimme dat lip
    • View Profile
    • Thy Gaming Forum
Well, idk if this is super hard or not, but I just had an idea.
I saw this picture of the TI89 on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:TI-89.jpg
And I noticed the Cut, Copy, Paste things above 2ND [UP] and ESC.

I was wondering, since there is no ALPHA keys above 2ND, MODE, and DEL, that maybe this could be created?

I have no idea how to do this, and this is just an idea, but I bet someone from this community could know how to do it.

I mean, maybe for storing the data, you could just create an AppVar called CLIPTEMP and store stuff in there. Maybe it could be used with zStart, too (like how Omnicalc is)

Again, this is just an idea, and it would be AMAZING if it could happen :)
Current Projects:
-Sparta GUI Library: 25% - Alpha Stage
-Grapher - 75% - Beta Stage *on hiatus




Offline ben_g

  • Hey cool I can set a custom title now :)
  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1002
  • Rating: +125/-4
  • Asm noob
    • View Profile
    • Our programmer's team: GameCommandoSquad
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 06:37:40 pm »
I think it would be very hard to do becouse you would need a way to select too. The OS can't handle selections, so you'd have to program that in a routine which can work together with the OS well.
But it would be very handy indeed.
My projects
 - The Lost Survivors (Unreal Engine) ACTIVE [GameCommandoSquad main project]
 - Oxo, with single-calc multiplayer and AI (axe) RELEASED (screenshot) (topic)
 - An android version of oxo (java)  ACTIVE
 - A 3D collision detection library (axe) RELEASED! (topic)(screenshot)(more recent screenshot)(screenshot of it being used in a tilemapper)
Spoiler For inactive:
- A first person shooter with a polygon-based 3d engine. (z80, will probably be recoded in axe using GLib) ON HOLD (screenshot)
 - A java MORPG. (pc) DEEP COMA(read more)(screenshot)
 - a minecraft game in axe DEAD (source code available)
 - a 3D racing game (axe) ON HOLD (outdated screenshot of asm version)

This signature was last updated on 20/04/2015 and may be outdated

Offline shmibs

  • しらす丼
  • Administrator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2132
  • Rating: +281/-3
  • try to be ok, ok?
    • View Profile
    • shmibbles.me
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2012, 10:23:23 pm »
an app could manage it with keyhooks, i think. if so, maybe thepenguin could stick it in zstart? i doubt there's enough room to do it and keep the page size down, though, what with all he has in there already.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2012, 10:43:36 pm »
I actually started on that a few months ago, but went on to other projects because I got bored. Something like this really needs to be made at some point though.
I mean, maybe for storing the data, you could just create an AppVar called CLIPTEMP and store stuff in there.
That won't work because when anything's being edited (homescreen, program editor, etc.), the edit buffer is open. (Basically, all available RAM is temporarily put into the current variable so you can't create anything else.)

But you could store the copied data in a RAM area like appBackUpScreen (which I don't think is used during editing). However, that would limit copy data to 766 bytes (768 minus two for size; shouldn't be a problem), and if any other active hooks use it, there would be conflicts.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2012, 10:43:44 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 02:25:09 am »
Omnicalc used to have a Clipboard feature back in version 1.00, but it was so buggy that the authors decided to remove it completely. (random 50-60 KB Y1,Y2,r1,r2 files appeared in the memory menu and the Y= editor pretty much showed The Matrix movie before greeting you with a BSOD then a RAM Clear).

It would definitively be doable. Doing it stable, however, might be another story.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline thydowulays

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Rating: +12/-1
  • Don't gimme dat lip
    • View Profile
    • Thy Gaming Forum
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2012, 02:28:03 am »
Yeah I could never make something like this. Off topic: Deep Thought, are you planning on resuming progress on XDE anytime soon? Because I would love to use it for my projects when it's finished
Current Projects:
-Sparta GUI Library: 25% - Alpha Stage
-Grapher - 75% - Beta Stage *on hiatus




Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2012, 09:25:25 am »
zStart actually lets you copy and paste stuff in the program editor. Press [ON] + [ +] to copy and [ON] + [Enter] to paste. It only copies the current line, but it really helps if you need to copy a boat load of stuff.

The copy data is stored on the extra ram page so this only works on non-83+BE calculators.

(Also, [ON] + [^] is effectively an undo button)
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Xeda112358

  • they/them
  • Moderator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 4704
  • Rating: +719/-6
  • Calc-u-lator, do doo doo do do do.
    • View Profile
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2012, 09:33:35 am »
Hmm, I wonder if there could be a way to copy multiple lines...? You would need to find a way to show what was selected, though, probably :/

Offline jacobly

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 205
  • Rating: +161/-1
    • View Profile
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2012, 10:38:48 am »
Hmm, I wonder if there could be a way to copy multiple lines...? You would need to find a way to show what was selected, though, probably :/

You could do something similar to what emacs does (yank and kill). Then you could copy multiple lines without the need for selection. :D

Offline thydowulays

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
  • Rating: +12/-1
  • Don't gimme dat lip
    • View Profile
    • Thy Gaming Forum
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #9 on: February 05, 2012, 01:23:05 pm »
thepenguin77, does this only work with zStart 1.3? Because I have 1.2 and it doesn't work.
Current Projects:
-Sparta GUI Library: 25% - Alpha Stage
-Grapher - 75% - Beta Stage *on hiatus




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: [IDEA] Clipboard - Easy copy/paste just like the TI89 for z80 calcs
« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2012, 02:28:31 pm »
zStart actually lets you copy and paste stuff in the program editor. Press [ON] + [ +] to copy and [ON] + [Enter] to paste. It only copies the current line, but it really helps if you need to copy a boat load of stuff.

The copy data is stored on the extra ram page so this only works on non-83+BE calculators.

(Also, [ON] + [^] is effectively an undo button)
Wow I didn't know that. Does it also work from the home screen and Y= menu?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)