Author Topic: Dungeons and Dragons  (Read 5232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline obon7

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Rating: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Dungeons and Dragons
« on: November 28, 2011, 09:07:12 pm »
I just had this epiphany as I was going to bed last night after along session of D&D and realized what if I put this on a calculator.
                                 How the game will work
You have team of three players, you are not designated as any specific person
Combat is also the same as in D&D with rolling a d20 (randint(1,20) then dealing damage
most likely all other things will be the same (perception, Knowledge, healing etc.)
Instead of leveling, after each battle you gain experience which can be used to upgrade/learn powers and also enhance basic stats
most likely comabat will be on a grid in which you move your team around and cast spells like in D&D
 reply with any ideas also if anyone wants to help let me know and I can have some coding for you to do  :thumbsup:

I will post 2 polls (1 on classes of the team and another on if you should be designated character)
THX
P.S. for any other nerds the campaign I was plating was the Sellswords of Punjar LOL ._.

Offline hellninjas

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 625
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 09:54:09 pm »
This sounds nice. (As I have made alot of Rpg's in basic)
But first things first, what language will it be in? (Axe, Basic, z80, etc,...)

Offline obon7

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Rating: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 10:58:26 pm »
most likely axe but c++ or java doesn't seem to poular in this community so I might make it for those instead just to to do something new

Offline hellninjas

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 625
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2011, 07:13:14 pm »
I would recommend Axe, most people know and use it, and sometimes others take a while to switch away fomr a language!
Along with the fact that more people stare at the Axe Forums, so you might just get a bit more attention :D
This is just a reccomendation, do it the way YOU would like it :D
If I can help in any way just ask! :D

Offline saintrunner

  • Custom Spriter: You ask it! I'll Make it!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1787
  • Rating: +115/-11
  • Flogging Molly
    • View Profile
    • Jonny K Music
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2011, 07:44:36 pm »
Sounds awesome! Oh and just so you know if you use axe, randint(1,20) would look like rand^19
, It's a little different in axe, and the 19 is because in axe the calc starts counting from 0 not 1 :) Good luck!
My Sprites Thread   :Updated often :) for your viewing pleasure

GAMES:

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2011, 07:46:30 pm »
Saintrunner, wouldn't that probably just be
1+rand^20
to do exactly that?

Offline saintrunner

  • Custom Spriter: You ask it! I'll Make it!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1787
  • Rating: +115/-11
  • Flogging Molly
    • View Profile
    • Jonny K Music
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2011, 07:47:56 pm »
rand^19 is optimized a little more if I'm not mistaken

and 1+rand^20...isn't that 21?
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:48:32 pm by saintrunner »
My Sprites Thread   :Updated often :) for your viewing pleasure

GAMES:

Offline hellninjas

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 625
  • Rating: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2011, 07:48:02 pm »
Yes it could also be rand^20+1->(Variable)

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2011, 07:48:28 pm »
rand^19 is optimized a little more if I'm not mistaken
Wouldn't that be 0-18?

I know constants are most optimized at the end, but I wasn't sure how axe would interpret it :P
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:49:47 pm by epic7 »

Offline saintrunner

  • Custom Spriter: You ask it! I'll Make it!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1787
  • Rating: +115/-11
  • Flogging Molly
    • View Profile
    • Jonny K Music
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2011, 07:49:35 pm »
no rand^19 is a random interval between 0 and 19, which is 20 numbers. And it's optimized

I've always used that, But it doesn't matter
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:52:40 pm by saintrunner »
My Sprites Thread   :Updated often :) for your viewing pleasure

GAMES:

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2011, 07:52:11 pm »
Oh... Either I just screwed up robogun's enemy spawn engine by doing it my way, I forgot that it worked that way,... (or maybe even your wrong >:D :P)

Also 0-19? I thought RandInt(1,20) would be... 1-20 :P
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:52:33 pm by epic7 »

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2011, 07:53:03 pm »
no rand^19 is a random interval between 0 and 19, which is 20 numbers. And it's optimized

You might want to check your math, rand^19 is indeed 0-18.  If you wanted a number from 1-20 you would do rand^20+1

Offline saintrunner

  • Custom Spriter: You ask it! I'll Make it!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1787
  • Rating: +115/-11
  • Flogging Molly
    • View Profile
    • Jonny K Music
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2011, 07:54:24 pm »
In axe it counts from 0-up. so to get 20 you have to put a 19 cuz it includes 0. And I guess you could do randint(1,20) (If it works I don't think it does though) But rand^19 is still more optimized, so I suggest using that

Edit: OH your right! I meant 21!! Opps lol! And thats easy math
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:55:33 pm by saintrunner »
My Sprites Thread   :Updated often :) for your viewing pleasure

GAMES:

Offline epic7

  • Chopin!
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2200
  • Rating: +135/-8
  • I like robots
    • View Profile
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2011, 07:55:01 pm »
I did 1+rand^20 cuz I thought it rand^20+1 might be interpreted as rand^21, but axe order of ops and stuff still kinda confuse me XP

Also i think randint( doesn't work, or at least not the same.

« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 07:56:48 pm by epic7 »

Offline saintrunner

  • Custom Spriter: You ask it! I'll Make it!
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1787
  • Rating: +115/-11
  • Flogging Molly
    • View Profile
    • Jonny K Music
Re: Dungeons and Dragons
« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2011, 07:56:31 pm »
Yeah me too, and yeah I screwed up my math, I'm so tired sorry :P it is rand^20+1 or could it just be rand^21?
My Sprites Thread   :Updated often :) for your viewing pleasure

GAMES: