Author Topic: Half Life 2: On-Calc  (Read 67272 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #120 on: April 05, 2010, 08:26:37 am »
Well, that update was easy.
Update
I updated it to Axe 4.0 by swapping out my hex algorithm for the official Axe 0.1.4 commands.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #121 on: April 05, 2010, 02:21:49 pm »
Can't wait for more updates :)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #122 on: April 09, 2010, 06:11:24 pm »
Sorry to leave you guys hanging for so long.

Update
New in this version:
(Almost) finished the physics engine
Finished the graphics engine
Fixed the MirageOS glitch

Things to point out:
The physics engine is running with multiple objects being updated, something that was very hard to do
The character can't go through walls and floors (that took me a while)

Things to do:
Remove all the HL2 specific code from the game and post a beta of Source TI
Finish physics engine (needs boyancy and collisions between objects)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #123 on: April 09, 2010, 06:29:54 pm »
Wow I like how fast it seems to run and nice physics, I like how you made the char slow down gradually when stopping moving :)

Will there be some different wall tiles btw or will everything that is a wall be plain black?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #124 on: April 09, 2010, 06:31:27 pm »
There will be many tiles, not just plain black.  I just want to finish the engine first.
Also, you say it runs fast.  I use a timer that slows it down drastically.  It is running at 1/10th what it could be running at.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #125 on: April 09, 2010, 06:34:06 pm »
Wow 1/10? o.o darn I can,t wait to see when there are over 9000...er... 10-12 enemies on screen. Will there be scrolling in the future?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #126 on: April 09, 2010, 06:36:01 pm »
I don't think I will do scrolling.
The engine isn't set up to handle that kind of thing.
Also, like I mentioned before, the engine adapts.  As more objects are added, it will begin to run at 1/9th, and 1/8th, and 1/7th, ect.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #127 on: April 09, 2010, 06:37:27 pm »
Aaah ok. Still cool anyway. And I like how your engine adapts. In the past I noticed many games that slows down as objects appears x.x, like Galaxian.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #128 on: April 09, 2010, 06:39:11 pm »
Yeah, I've never liked that.  Every object takes 13 bytes of memory to manage, which allows for a max of 53 objects in the physics engine at a time.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #129 on: April 09, 2010, 06:43:46 pm »
Nice :D, not too large
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #130 on: April 09, 2010, 06:44:49 pm »
Oh yeah.
Source: 4652
Binary: 4624

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #131 on: April 09, 2010, 06:46:15 pm »
wow I assume a lot of the program is data, right? Cuz I know a lot of Axe games that mostly consist of code and barely any data ends up about 2-3 times larger than the source (for now)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Will_W

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
  • Rating: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #132 on: April 09, 2010, 06:47:51 pm »
does axe have any timer commands?  If it does, you could use a timer keep the framerate constant rather than adjusting the speed at which it runs.
ex de,hl
ld (hl),e
inc hl
ld (hl),d
ld a,(hl)

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #133 on: April 09, 2010, 06:47:55 pm »
Just over 1300 bytes of data.

SirCmpwn

  • Guest
Re: Half Life 2: On-Calc
« Reply #134 on: April 09, 2010, 06:51:47 pm »
@Will, Axe does not have timer commands, and if it did I don't want to lose compatability.