Author Topic: The Reign of Legends: Across Time  (Read 17014 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JustCause

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • *
  • Posts: 810
  • Rating: +115/-5
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2011, 10:10:55 pm »
AOC and Ashbad working on the same project at the same time?
DON'T DO IT! YOU'LL CREATE A SINGULARITY MADE OF PURE WIN!
See you, space cowboy...

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2011, 10:19:34 pm »
That reminds me... I wish wabbitemu supported still screenshot capture rather than just animated. It would allow me to give you some game maps.
It actually does support that by dragging and dropping the screen :)
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline AngelFish

  • Is this my custom title?
  • Administrator
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3242
  • Rating: +270/-27
  • I'm a Fishbot
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2011, 12:21:03 am »
Looks awesome. One request, though: Don't bring over the ROL tradition of making calc games larger than the calcs memory too :P

Looks like we better get Flash writing figured out so you can create save files where they're supposed to be in memory.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 12:22:34 am by Qwerty.55 »
∂²Ψ    -(2m(V(x)-E)Ψ
---  = -------------
∂x²        ℏ²Ψ

Offline sjasogun1

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
  • Rating: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2011, 04:13:19 am »
Is it easy to modify the code to omit colors so it can be played on a Casio fx-9860? I would love to try this once it's finished.
Veni, vidi, cecidi
(I came, I saw, I fell down dead)
MSPAFORUMS: http://www.mspaforums.com/
HOMESTUCK: http://www.mspaintadventures.com/?s=6&p=001901

Offline JosJuice

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1344
  • Rating: +66/-14
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2011, 05:01:47 am »
Is it easy to modify the code to omit colors so it can be played on a Casio fx-9860? I would love to try this once it's finished.
When using C, modifying a game to fit the 9860 is much harder that just removing the colors. The screen is smaller, the syscalls aren't the same, you'd need to change how the screen and OS is interacted with, etc.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2011, 05:10:43 am »
He's right. Unfortunately it would be a pretty big difference. Graphics are also going to be developed with the prizm's much larger screen in mind. Even if the same graphics were to be used, theyd have to all be converted to black and white or black and white for use with gray. So I'd say it is not too likely. :/

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2011, 09:06:49 am »
Not likely at all :P I wouldn't even attempt it.  However, I would love to collaborate with someone who would like to make either an NLua version and/or a 9860 version :)

EDIT: also, I'll be adding a bit to the story, just enough to fix the small English mistakes and make it flow better -- though 95% of the script will remain the same :)
« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 09:07:31 am by Ashbad »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2011, 05:09:31 pm »
Qwerty lol the original games even fitted on a regular 83+. They were just slow. Also if you make this game for the FX-9860G you could simply use the original sprites and not use parts of the screen, kinda like Dying Eyes on the TI-86.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2011, 05:15:19 pm »
That's true -- but it would most likely be like writing a whole new game.  With that being said, I have decent progress on the Prizm game itself:

Battle Engine: 5%
Graphics Tiles: 3% (~20 done)

And that's all I've worked on :P  Stay tuned later for a posting of some tiles examples -- they're now 20x20 instead of 24x24 like originally planned ;)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2011, 05:25:22 pm »
Cool to hear, be sure to post screenshots soon :D.

Also, while I do mind the usage of video game sprites in this, I do not mind if you use certain RPG Maker graphics if the colors are modified. I kinda like some of them. Also feel free to use Charas.EX for enemy sprites or even char sprites, lol.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 05:27:39 pm by DJ_O »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2011, 05:41:01 pm »
I might take up the offer later on, but for now everything I made is original, though don't worry, it'll look good -- I understand if you're worried that your epic game would be ruined by poor graphics.  I assure you I'm spending my utmost time making the best quality stuff possible ;)

Also, hopefully a screenie will happen soon :D

Side note -- the overworld map will be 10x10 tiles, non-overworld will be 20x20, to avoid confusion.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #26 on: June 06, 2011, 08:17:02 pm »
Ah ok. I just don't want it to have graphics like for example the Reign of Legends 0 game O.O or the RPG Maker '95 demo game called  Quest for the Golden... erm.. I think I'll leave you with a link x.x http://www.rpg-maker.fr/index.php?page=jeux&id=216

(ROL0)


I think something like the following would be a lil better (or some graphics you showed up above)

(MCOG2)
« Last Edit: June 06, 2011, 08:21:21 pm by DJ_O »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #27 on: June 06, 2011, 08:48:16 pm »
While those look pretty hard to compare to, I think I'm doing a lot better than ROL0 ;) For example, remember room three of the Neomaga with the two pillars, 5 minutes into the game?  Here's my version of it, with tiles I made just now:



I personally think it's at least on par, and it looks a lot like the design in the 83+ version ;)  However, I can always improve them over time and I will be sure to use RPG maker sprites as a reference -- if I get REALLY stuck I'll just rip one or two of them, recolor, resize, and viola.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #28 on: June 06, 2011, 08:51:44 pm »
Oh yeah I remember that room. That looks extremly nice by the way. One thing to make sure is to make the graphics represent the same thing as the original. It can be hard in some cases, since they're 8x8, but for example in the first post the graphics used in the battle screen were supposed to be the sky at the top (black, since it's underground), with the rest being a crystal/glass floor. But yeah I love the graphics above. Also I think if you made them 16x16 or easily resizable, this would allow an RPG Maker 2003 port of the game ;D
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: The Reign of Legends: Across Time
« Reply #29 on: June 06, 2011, 08:56:19 pm »
I could always resize them to 16x16 if you want ;) it's just for the Prizm for now the 20x20 ones look the best size-wise, since 24x24 is a bit too big and 16x16 is hard to look at (really small :P) But, I think that later on, I could always resize them down 4x4 pixels -- I already did that once, those tiles there were originally 24x24 so I had to quickly chop off corners to make them fit better.  And, maybe, just maybe, when I finish the prizm version, I could always port it to the computer by just messing with the C code and make it work graphics-wise for PC :)  Then it would take little work coding rather than rewriting everything.

And, I'm glad you like the tiles, I'll be sure to make the best for your awesome game, it deserves the best I can possibly ever make ;)