Author Topic: TI Connect being stupid (again)...  (Read 11932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« on: November 11, 2013, 12:28:53 am »
From time to time TI Connect does this and I usually can fix it by restarting my computer. This time it's being really weird though. I've restarted twice, re-installed my OS once, cleared all ram once, changed batteries and (because I just backed up everything this morning) cleared all memory twice. It still shows this message every time I try to send something, no matter what file I send from any folder.

http://www.omnimaga.org/index.php?action=articles;sa=view;article=76

Didn't work :(
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2013, 12:36:00 am »
This has happened to me in the past too, did you try using TiLP, I have gotten no success with TI-Connect for the past year, and TiLP works great.
This used to contain a signature.

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2013, 12:50:11 am »
No I haven't, what's that?   *.*
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55931
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2013, 01:43:58 am »
Topic title should have been "TI-Connect is a piece of garbage", but again most people know this, so I guess the current title is fine too. I had this happen once but I tried again (reconnecting my calc before doing so) and it worked again. Some people like you definitively didn't have the same luck as me, though. >.<

Offline SpiroH

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 728
  • Rating: +153/-23
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2013, 10:05:55 am »
Topic title should have been "TI-Connect is a piece of garbage", ...
LOL, do you mean "TI-Connect is a piece of s**t" ? :-\

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2013, 10:36:00 am »
Quote
Quote
Topic title should have been "TI-Connect is a piece of garbage", ...
LOL, do you mean "TI-Connect is a piece of s**t" ?  :-\

Totally, it's such crap; it always has some problem with it...
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline TheMachine02

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 452
  • Rating: +105/-0
  • me = EF99+F41A
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2013, 11:31:21 am »
indeed  :P

Ti connect don't really have problem with me (transfer etc work fine), but if I leave it on my computer, Ti connect made him crash ><
AXE/asm programmer - unleash the power of z80 //C++//C

epic 3D things http://www.ntu.edu.sg/home/ehchua/programming/opengl/CG_BasicsTheory.html

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2013, 12:33:31 pm »
Lol. The only thing I use it for now is to send OS's over Silverlink, because it's somehow broken in Tilp (via DirectUSB it works fine though but my 83+se doesn't have it).

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2013, 03:01:58 pm »
No I haven't, what's that?   *.*
It is an alternate program to TI-Connect for sending files to calculators:
http://www.ticalc.org/archives/files/fileinfo/374/37481.html
This used to contain a signature.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #9 on: November 11, 2013, 03:17:01 pm »
Outdated link warning ! Grab it from here : http://lpg.ticalc.org/prj_tilp/news.html

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #10 on: November 11, 2013, 03:21:26 pm »
Getting TILP from http://ourl.ca/4010/360344 would be even better :)
ClrDraw: as indicated by the README, you'll have to follow a manual procedure and install a "filter driver" for TILP to work. That sucks from a user's POV, but the culprit is a fundamental Windows limitation. Windows hates having more than one driver for a given piece of hardware. Having to install such workarounds is not a problem of TILP itself.
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2013, 03:28:31 pm »
The mere fact that wincrap requires drivers to communicate with USB devices is already a limitation.

Offline ClrDraw

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 627
  • Rating: +61/-2
    • View Profile
    • GitHub
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #12 on: November 11, 2013, 03:32:32 pm »
Thanks for the links, I can't install it now though cause I don't have admin privileges :( IDK if the owner of this computer will let me install it, but I'll try...
Visit my GitHub for all my TI programs as well as other projects.
Also check out my website.

Offline Lionel Debroux

  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2135
  • Rating: +290/-45
    • View Profile
    • TI-Chess Team
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #13 on: November 11, 2013, 03:41:02 pm »
Yeah, without admin privileges, you're toast.
It's not so different on Linux, that said - one needs to be root for a short time as well, either for installing a package (when there's a suitable one for the distro and it's not outdated), or adding a udev file which triggers read+write access to non-root users.
Member of the TI-Chess Team.
Co-maintainer of GCC4TI (GCC4TI online documentation), TILP and TIEmu.
Co-admin of TI-Planet.

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1953
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: TI Connect being stupid (again)...
« Reply #14 on: November 11, 2013, 03:42:10 pm »
What? I never needed to install a driver. Is this the same driver gCn uses?
This used to contain a signature.