Author Topic: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !  (Read 9136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline critor

  • Editor
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2079
  • Rating: +439/-13
    • View Profile
    • TI-Planet
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2013, 06:09:10 pm »
It has 2.55MP.

Asm programs just work as good (or as bad) as on TI-84+ with 2.55MP.
TI-Planet co-admin.

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2013, 06:14:28 pm »
It has 2.55MP.

Asm programs just work as good (or as bad) as on TI-84+ with 2.55MP.

Are you sure that's not just for the prototypes?  I'd expect them to release 2.57 with such huge change in their calculator lineup.
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2013, 07:01:20 pm »
Have you tried the calculator with ASM programs or custom apps?  I have a bad feeling that it might ship with a new OS that disables assembly programs.  We all see how TI has gone with the nSpire.  :/
And OS 2.71MP :P

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2013, 08:09:41 pm »
Have you tried the calculator with ASM programs or custom apps?  I have a bad feeling that it might ship with a new OS that disables assembly programs.  We all see how TI has gone with the nSpire.  :/
And OS 2.71MP :P
Why not make a new (and probably more buggy) os? :P

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DrDnar

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 546
  • Rating: +97/-1
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2013, 08:38:02 pm »
I don't think anybody's said this explicitly yet: The TI-84+ series ASICs do not support the 512 K flash chip TI used for the TI-83+. Specifically, the (easily disabled) circuits that are supposed to censor the cryptographic certificate and prevent the boot code from being modified only support mapping 1, 2, 4, and 8 MB flash chips.
"No tools will make a man a skilled workman, or master of defense, nor be of any use to him who has not learned how to handle them, and has never bestowed any attention upon them. . . . Yes, [] the tools which would teach men their own use would be beyond price."—Plato's The Republic, circa 380 BC

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2013, 08:56:32 pm »
I don't think anybody's said this explicitly yet: The TI-84+ series ASICs do not support the 512 K flash chip TI used for the TI-83+. Specifically, the (easily disabled) circuits that are supposed to censor the cryptographic certificate and prevent the boot code from being modified only support mapping 1, 2, 4, and 8 MB flash chips.
They must have done the same thing as they did when they switched the 84+ series to 48kb of RAM.
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #21 on: April 02, 2013, 12:37:46 am »
Have you tried the calculator with ASM programs or custom apps?  I have a bad feeling that it might ship with a new OS that disables assembly programs.  We all see how TI has gone with the nSpire.  :/
And OS 2.71MP :P
Why not make a new (and probably more buggy) os? :P
For that, they would have to hire the ones who beta-tested the OS used by the HP 39gII. :P It makes OS 2.71MP look stable (although at least it's much faster). O.O

Offline Ti-Programmer

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
  • Rating: +3/-0
  • Whats this? so many features...
    • View Profile
    • Ti-Programmer's website
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2013, 10:31:52 pm »
Yea you guys got me good with this one, nice job guys.
Spoiler For Sig:







Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55913
  • Rating: +3152/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83 Plus moves to TI-84 Plus hardware worldwide !
« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2013, 10:52:30 pm »
Btw there was another prank about the color calc being released in France too. I wish it was real D: (currently, the 84+CSE is released everywhere but not France, which sucks because it would have an even larger userbase)