Author Topic: 16-Level Grayscale  (Read 36944 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #75 on: July 11, 2010, 06:37:58 pm »
Right now.

The only problem is that since I do not know how to deploy programs in c++ yet, you have to have Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 installed on your computer. (2010 might work too).

Here are the instructions from the Level16 readme, with all 16's replaced with 8's.

1. Download gimp. (Photoshop will work too, but you will have to figure it out yourself)
2. Open your picture
3. Get the picture down to 96 pixels wide by 64 tall
4. Desaturate the picture
5. Image > mode > indexed. Select 8 colors
6. Back to RGB mode
7. Save the picture as a .bmp and make sure it saves in 24 bit mode.
8. Put the picture in the same folder as level8.exe
9. Open command prompt and type in      cd c:\(folder where you put it)     for me it is    cd c:\asm\level8
10. Now use level8.exe to convert it.     level8 picture.bmp picture.8xp    replace picture with your file name

If it's not in the same folder, use double slashes (c++ bug that idk how to fix). c:\\asm\\level8\\daboss.bmp
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline Magic Banana

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 371
  • Rating: +77/-1
  • It's not an apple, it's a ... magic banana.
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #76 on: July 12, 2010, 04:16:00 am »
^^That is dedication. Oops, I guess I never actually included the source, (the grayCopy uses call and ret in reverse, it calls with ret and returns with call). You could have just told me to update it, but I suppose it's more fun to figure out how to use Axe to hack stuff. :)

Here is the official update. It gives you a little screen where you fix the refresh rate yourself. Then press 2nd and it's saved until you delete the appVar.
Does that mean that we will be able to read from the AppVar to 'calibrate' our screens for flickerless grayscale in future programs? If so then  ;D
I do sprites and stuff, so yeah.

Quote from: yunhua98
i'M NOT SURE WHAT A SWORD SKILL IS BUT HERE'S THE SWORD ANIMATION FROM THE TWO SPRITES ON PG 13

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #77 on: July 12, 2010, 09:57:16 am »
I suppose. Maybe there should be some standard appVar name that contains the grayscale info. The little test addition only added about 250 bytes to the program. So I'll probably include it with all my grayscalers because typically they're large anyways. I also usually have a screen to adjust contrast.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2011, 03:30:01 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline matthias1992

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 408
  • Rating: +33/-5
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #78 on: July 12, 2010, 10:21:30 am »
Quote
The only problem is that since I do not know how to deploy programs in c++ yet, you have to have Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 installed on your computer. (2010 might work too)
build>build solution

the go to the projects directory>debug>[application name].exe

I have no experience with C++ whatsoever but I do have it installed and this gives a working executable. However tricks may be required. In VB you have to find the file called [aplliaction name].manifest.deploy.exe and remove the ".manifes.deploy" in the properties menu of the file.

Since both are a part of visual studio it might work the same but in the couple of minutes that I tried i could not find such a file.

EDIT:
TI-84+    xxxx4066I28 P-0708L (which is a faulty hardware revision according to TiBoy83 :( )
Refresh: 79 (but since that is in the 70's it is not valid?? or should it be 158 then...)
spedTest: 15692757 hz
lcd speed: 115 fps
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 10:36:55 am by matthias1992 »
MASM xxxxxxxxxx aborted | SADce ====:::::: 40% -Halted until further notice| XAOS =====::::: 50% -Units done| SKYBOX2D engine ========== 100% -Pre-alpha done. Need to  document it and extend |

~Those who dream by day are cognizant of much more than those who dream by night only. -Sir Edgar Allen Poe-

Offline SolusIpse

  • LV2 Member (Next: 40)
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #79 on: July 12, 2010, 11:19:59 pm »
After reading the posts, I'm kind of interested in how much the hardware has changed (for better or worse).

Can people run this on a real calc and tell me how much it flickers?  Disclaimer: NOT MINE! don't have source so don't ask for it.

2nd - take advantage of SE speed
Mode - turn off SE speed
clear - quit
F1-5 - adjust scrolling speed (not like it should really affect flicker anyways)

edit: sorry for any thread-jacking!
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 11:20:31 pm by SolusIpse »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #80 on: July 12, 2010, 11:35:00 pm »
Btw I assume it gives something like this, right, altough I only ran it on Wabbitemu? (sorry I was a bit bored when I made the screenshot. Wabbitemu was running at 5% speed :P)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 11:35:31 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #81 on: July 12, 2010, 11:38:41 pm »
Ahh, matthias, you forgot the driver number lol. But from the looks of SPEDTEST, I'm going to assume you have a number around 40 and since your refresh number is 12 that will probably screw up any correlation.

@SolusIpse, It had a little flicker, kind of like twinkling stars. It was because the glitch line was passing through the image about 4 times per second. Also, the buttons didn't seem to do anything.

Edit:
    Whoa, I didn't realize it could scroll, this is awsome!
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 11:40:31 pm by thepenguin77 »
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #82 on: July 16, 2010, 02:34:56 am »
Random mid-topic question (sorta). Is that the Pallet Town map demo thing off of ticalc.org?
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline tr1p1ea

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 647
  • Rating: +110/-0
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #83 on: July 18, 2010, 01:19:47 am »
Its a test scroller made by Jim e of revsoft, it should be on their forums.

http://www.revsoft.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=423&start=0
« Last Edit: July 18, 2010, 02:01:06 am by tr1p1ea »
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."


Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #84 on: July 18, 2010, 02:56:50 am »
Ah ok. Gotcha. Thanks.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #85 on: July 18, 2010, 08:34:21 pm »
Oh wow I remember that tilemapper at the bottom. It was some cool stuff. Too bad it was SE-only :( (back then, most people still only had regular 83+ calcs)
« Last Edit: July 18, 2010, 08:34:40 pm by DJ Omnimaga »

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #86 on: July 20, 2010, 11:33:44 am »
lol sort of off topic but not really;

When i run your level16.exe, it tells me that the "side by side configuration is incorrect"....O.o

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1594
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #87 on: July 20, 2010, 01:28:28 pm »
That's because I didn't realize you had to install programs for them to work. I thought, they work on mine, I don't see why they wouldn't work on someone else's.

Really the only fix I have is to install microsoft visual studio 2008 on your computer. Maybe it'll be the motivation to learn c++ :). Or not
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #88 on: July 20, 2010, 03:08:00 pm »
Isn't there a way to not have to install visual studio to run them, tho, like compiling them in a way that doesn't require it? I remember I could run my VB games fine (except Illusiat 5) on my old XP computer which had no Visual Studio installed on it (nor any plugin) back then.

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: 16-Level Grayscale
« Reply #89 on: July 20, 2010, 03:32:05 pm »
woops i must have missed the discussion earlier in this thread. sorry!