Author Topic: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)  (Read 79200 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #135 on: January 31, 2011, 01:00:59 am »
Was it preceded by a RAM Fail or ROM Fail msg?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline ferox

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
  • Rating: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #136 on: February 03, 2011, 02:26:24 am »
i don't know if this is really a bug but maybe:

OSes: 84+ tested with 2.53 and 2.55
trigger: put in the homescreen in one line: a function that calls the graph, an ":" and then a function that calls back the homescreen
effect: the graph screen is now the background of the homescreen
fix: press [clear]
« Last Edit: February 03, 2011, 12:11:44 pm by ferox »
on hold:

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #137 on: February 03, 2011, 11:06:54 pm »
Nice you found a new bug (unless it was intentional from TI?)

Confirmed in this screenshot:
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #138 on: February 07, 2011, 03:58:01 pm »
Wow, that's a stupid glitch. It becomes present in OS 2.53 so it must have been an oversight when installing mathprint. But I can't really see people running into problems with this one. Who does a drawing command followed by a calculation?

They didn't break Disp, only the auto display ans. So I guess that's a plus.
zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #139 on: February 17, 2011, 04:08:15 am »
Yeah true, few people should really encounter that glitch.
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #140 on: March 03, 2011, 10:56:28 am »
The slow clock glitch sounds to me like an accidental activation of the 84+SE's 6MHz compatibility mode, something that could be fixed with Axe or assembly or anything else with the ability to change that flag. It would be something else to know what exactly was going on when that glitch occurred.
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55851
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #141 on: March 04, 2011, 01:02:30 am »
Well, on the TI-83+SE OS 1.13, even without a single ASM program, turning ON the calc sometimes activated 6 MHz mode or something. However, it felt much slower than a regular 83+. Afterward, the only way to trigger this was by running MirageOS 1.1. (Those who think Mirage 1.2 is buggy should look at 1.1 O.O)
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF



Official Website |T-Shirt store | Reverbnation | Facebook | Youtube | Twitter | Spotify

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #142 on: May 05, 2011, 04:01:42 pm »
Found this today.
TI-84+SE
2.55MP
Had it in Classic, but I don't think it matters.

Put calc in Frac
Goto the Window menu and change at least one of the options so that it has a thick / in it
Change mode to something other than Frac
Open up the Window menu again
Either scroll down to the option with the thick / in it and then press Y=, or scroll one past.
The z address is now 31 instead of 0 (I counted)
The z address can be reset by turning the calc off then on, but so long as the thick / is present in a Window menu option, it can be retriggered by the above scrolling process.
If the calc APDs while the z address is 31, it wipes the graphscreen without marking it dirty, leaving a blank graphscreen that can be restored with a ClearDraw.
The way to fix this is to remove the thick / from the Window options, or put the calc in Frac mode, and turn it off then back on.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 04:03:02 pm by Freyaday »
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #143 on: May 05, 2011, 04:58:09 pm »
Interesting (and nice bump, too). Screenshot? I tried to reproduce it in 2.53MP in Wabbit, but I couldn't.
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #144 on: May 05, 2011, 05:01:02 pm »
I don't have access to TI-Connect right now, And I won't for a while. I found this on a real calc, by the way. Maybe this means that it's a new bug only present in 2.55?
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline calcdude84se

  • Needs Motivation
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2272
  • Rating: +78/-13
  • Wondering where their free time went...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #145 on: May 05, 2011, 05:14:40 pm »
What do you need TI-Connect for? I meant using WabbitEmu, since getting a screenshot from a real calc via TI-Connect doesn't, can't capture the current z-address. ;)
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 05:15:47 pm by calcdude84se »
"People think computers will keep them from making mistakes. They're wrong. With computers you make mistakes faster."
-Adam Osborne
Spoiler For "PartesOS links":
I'll put it online when it does something.

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #146 on: May 05, 2011, 08:59:16 pm »
I don't have access to Wabbit atm. I said that already. :P
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #147 on: May 05, 2011, 09:00:56 pm »
when I used 2.55 during non-classic mode, typing 5+(pi*5)^3 gave me a wonderful BSOD.  no idea what happened.

Two personal solutions: 1. Imma gonna use my prizm for most math now and 2. I'm re-downgrading to non-MP 2.43 :P
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 09:01:57 pm by Ashbad »

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #148 on: May 05, 2011, 09:03:09 pm »
I tried to encourage that to ppl with mah avatar before XP
Sig wipe!

Offline thepenguin77

  • z80 Assembly Master
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1591
  • Rating: +823/-5
  • The game in my avatar is bit.ly/p0zPWu
    • View Profile
Re: TI-83+/84+ OS glitches compilation thread (all OSes)
« Reply #149 on: May 05, 2011, 09:47:32 pm »
Freyaday, I think this one is actually hardware specific. I can't be positive, but I remember there was another topic about this and no one could replicate the glitch. I for one, could not get this to work in wabbitEmu on 2.55 or on my calc on 2.53.

So, when you get the chance, we kinda need you to test this on wabbitEmu. Or even another calculator for that matter.

zStart v1.3.013 9-20-2013 
All of my utilities
TI-Connect Help
You can build a statue out of either 1'x1' blocks or 12'x12' blocks. The 1'x1' blocks will take a lot longer, but the final product is worth it.
       -Runer112