Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 496233 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1380 on: October 19, 2010, 08:58:58 pm »
I'm making YEONG RPG right now...
Is it easy to make RPG with Axe?
Sig wipe!

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1381 on: October 19, 2010, 09:05:43 pm »
it's never really "easy" to make an RPG. no matter the language, it's a lot of work. granted, i'd think it's safe to say it's easier to make a better (in terms of speed and graphics, not gameplay) RPG in axe than basic. of course it takes awhile to get used to Axe, though


Offline Yeong

  • Not a bridge
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3739
  • Rating: +278/-12
  • Survivor of Apocalypse
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1382 on: October 19, 2010, 09:06:29 pm »
Darn it..
"Getting used to it" part is always the hardest part.
Sig wipe!

Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1383 on: October 19, 2010, 09:08:19 pm »
Umm  I personally haven't tried an axe RPG so I don't know, but FinaleTI is working on an RPG called Nostalgia so i believe he would be able to best answer your question.

Personally i think that making an RPG with axe shouldn't be too much harder than in Basicif you are experienced in both, but you seem to have not been using axe so it might be harder for you, but if you learn axe well it should be about the same, unless you're planning on doing some extremely creative and complicated things.

If you haven't yet, take a look at Raylin's Rules for RPGs to start
http://ourl.ca/6546

Never mind I already told you about it before.

And a look at Nostalgia
http://ourl.ca/6009

Edit: actually now that i think again i think graphmastur was planning on making TAO Unleashed with axe
« Last Edit: October 19, 2010, 09:48:50 pm by guy6020665 »

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1384 on: October 19, 2010, 09:14:34 pm »
"getting used to it" is going to be a part of it no matter what programming language you choose, whether that's TI Basic, Axe, C, Java, ASM or any other language. i'd be lying if i told you it's easy to learn axe. but it's probably a hundred times easier to learn than assembly, no offense to the ASM coders on here. however, if you're "used to" TI Basic, and want some speed/fancier graphics, you could use Xlib or Celtic.


Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1385 on: October 19, 2010, 09:36:46 pm »
Oh, and a feature request: automatically making things like Output(0,0) be equivalent to Output(0) (and Output(0,0,"ERKH") be equivalent to Output(0):Disp "ERKH"). In other words, making it automatically calculate the full two bytes as it compiles.
I'm pretty sure Axe does this already. ;)

I'm actually working on an Axe RPG right now, Blox. More info on it later, though. ;D

Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1386 on: October 19, 2010, 09:40:51 pm »
Really ztrumpet? Have you mentioned it before now?

Wow lot's of planned RPG's in axe

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1387 on: October 19, 2010, 09:45:41 pm »
It *was* my contest entry, and I've never mentioned it on the forums, save a few references and my sig.  It's physics driven and centers on moving around blocks. :)  Once I work on it again, I'll post info on it. ;D

Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1388 on: October 19, 2010, 09:47:07 pm »
Cool. (this is making me want to go work on my own RPG)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1389 on: October 20, 2010, 02:44:32 am »
it's never really "easy" to make an RPG. no matter the language, it's a lot of work. granted, i'd think it's safe to say it's easier to make a better (in terms of speed and graphics, not gameplay) RPG in axe than basic. of course it takes awhile to get used to Axe, though
It depends, in BASIC, if the RPG is not super large (like 4 dungeons and one or two towns max) it can be much eaiser in BASIC, because you do not have to spend weeks trying to figure out how you will get something higher than 1 frames per second on a regular 83+ due to all enemies and ships moving around. In a RPG, almost everything is turn-based so you worry so much less about optimizing speed that it makes some RPGs easier to code than any other game in BASIC. However large RPGs are ridiculously long to create.

An example: Illusiat 7, 8 and 9 took me 2 weeks to create each of them. Mortal Kombat (included in Omnipack SE) took me 2 weeks, even though it's a 10x smaller game with shorter gameplay. xLIB xLIB Revolution, which is just a DDR clone with fancy graphics took me 2 weeks as well (mostly coding, not graphics). In Mortal Kombat I spent most of the time trying to increase the speed (and failed since it was back in 2002)
It *was* my contest entry, and I've never mentioned it on the forums, save a few references and my sig.  It's physics driven and centers on moving around blocks. :)  Once I work on it again, I'll post info on it. ;D
Quite ironically, both Omni contests (2009 and 2010) had an entry called Blox in the works but none were finished for the contest. :P Is there a curse on the name or something? D: ({AP} was the one working on the 2009 one)
« Last Edit: October 20, 2010, 02:48:41 am by DJ Omnimaga »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1390 on: October 23, 2010, 07:05:03 pm »
Question: do the r1, r2, r3 vars retain their value after use? ie, would
Code: [Select]
sub(L,1,2,3)
...
Text(0,0,r1>Dec
Text(0,10,r2>Dec
Text(0,20,r3>Dec
...
Lbl L
...
Return

write 1,2,and 3 on the screen?

And if you call a subroutine with no arguments, are these vars preserved?
As in
Code: [Select]
sub(L,1,2,3)
sub(A)
Lbl A
Text(0,0,r1>Dec
Text(0,10,r2>Dec
Text(0,20,r3>Dec
Return
Lbl L
...
Return
also writes 1, 2 and 3 on the screen?

Offline FinaleTI

  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1830
  • Rating: +121/-2
  • Believe in the pony that believes in you!
    • View Profile
    • dmuckerman.tumblr.com
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1391 on: October 23, 2010, 07:35:30 pm »
If I'm not mistaken, it shouldn't overwrite them.
Unless you call another subroutine that overwrites them, or you write to them manually, they should stay intact.


Spoiler For Projects:

My projects haven't been worked on in a while, so they're all on hiatus for the time being. I do hope to eventually return to them in some form or another...

Spoiler For Pokemon TI:
Axe port of Pokemon Red/Blue to the 83+/84+ family. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia:
My big personal project, an original RPG about dimensional travel and a few heroes tasked with saving the world.
Coding-wise, on hold, but I am re-working the story.

Spoiler For Finale's Super Insane Tunnel Pack of Doom:
I will be combining Blur and Collision Course into a single gamepack. On hold.

Spoiler For Nostalgia Origins: Sky's Story:
Prequel to Nostalgia. On hold, especially while the story is re-worked.

Offline BlackRabbit

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1392 on: October 23, 2010, 08:48:37 pm »
I'm sure this question has been asked several times but how do, or can, you display full-sized pictures? I haven't seen anything about it anywhere.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1393 on: October 23, 2010, 08:58:08 pm »
Hi and welcome here :). The best way to do it is to store a TI-BASIC image in  Pic0 through Pic9, then in an Axe program, put [PicNUMBER]->Pointer at the beginning of the code, for example [Pic1]->GDB0. When compiling, this will import the entire picture in the program. To display it, I believe that you do Copy(GDB0,L6,756) then DispGraph or something like that. That would copy the image to the buffer (L6) and DispGraph would display the buffer on the screen.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline nemo

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1203
  • Rating: +95/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #1394 on: October 23, 2010, 09:01:24 pm »
DJ Omnimaga is correct. one minor thing though is you would do Copy(GDB0,L6,768) instead of Copy(GDB0,L6,756). if you merely want to display the picture, you can also do Pic#->DispGraph.