• Axe Parser 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 216812 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #120 on: February 23, 2010, 01:53:55 am »
Btw I don,t remember if I asked this or if someone asked this, but does Axe programs run at the same speed on both 15 MHz calcs and the 6 MHz 83+, like other ion/mirage games?
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #121 on: February 23, 2010, 08:58:41 am »
Btw I don,t remember if I asked this or if someone asked this, but does Axe programs run at the same speed on both 15 MHz calcs and the 6 MHz 83+, like other ion/mirage games?
I think Axe runs faster in 15Mhz because it makes use of the faster speed available.
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2896
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #122 on: February 23, 2010, 02:34:21 pm »
Btw I don,t remember if I asked this or if someone asked this, but does Axe programs run at the same speed on both 15 MHz calcs and the 6 MHz 83+, like other ion/mirage games?
I think Axe runs faster in 15Mhz because it makes use of the faster speed available.
Nah, Axe programs run in 6MHz. I tried running in 15MHz and the Fastcopy routine failed. :( Quigibo, you should use a Safecopy routine so people won't need to use ALCDFIX with Axe programs. Also, running the Axe parser in 15MHz mode could really speed up compiling times.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #123 on: February 23, 2010, 03:07:09 pm »
oh right the broken LCD drivers... x.x
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #124 on: February 23, 2010, 04:50:56 pm »
Oh, I though it was in 15MHz mode by default... I'll try that.  But wouldn't safe copy make the routine really slow?  And if that's the case, why not just use GrBufCpy since isn't that what it does already?

I currently have reading and writing to ram working now, it was surprisingly simple to add.  But as I was using it, I realized that it would be an extreme convenience to have built-in data structure support that allows for adding, removing, reading, and writing data from a predetermined stack in ram.  I'll have to come up with some really clever syntax though, it'll be tough.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6158
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • C'est la vie
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #125 on: February 23, 2010, 05:10:24 pm »
I can't wait for that!
/e

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #126 on: February 23, 2010, 05:31:35 pm »
Sounds great! I can't wait as well. ;D

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2896
  • Rating: +467/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #127 on: February 23, 2010, 05:40:53 pm »
But wouldn't safe copy make the routine really slow?  And if that's the case, why not just use GrBufCpy since isn't that what it does already?
The only difference with safe copy as opposed to fast copy is that it uses a loop to poll the LCD port and wait until it's ready for data. DoorsCS uses this as its fast copy routine. GrBufCpy, on the other hand, is simply a slow TI routine no matter how you look at it.
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #128 on: February 28, 2010, 04:44:13 am »
Alright, the moment you've all been waiting for, Axe Parser 0.0.6 is finally out, widening the range of what is possible by a HUGE amount.  This is the last of the 0.0 series.  In 0.1 I will be working on improving the GUI, error handling, and safety features until it is somewhat acceptable.  I might also throw in a new command or two every so often.

Looking forward to seeing some new projects. :)
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #129 on: February 28, 2010, 04:49:25 am »
Woot Woot! *off to download new version*
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Now active at https://codewalr.us
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55816
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • CodeWalrus
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #130 on: February 28, 2010, 05:55:33 am »
WOW darn you keep impressing me more and more. It's amazing to see a TI-BASIC like language (that is actually almost TI-BASIC since it uses the BASIC tokens as they were intended for or close) run at such speed and so many sprites moving around without slow downs. That sure deserves a ticalc feature when this comes out. In fact even in its current completion state it would, IMHO.

Plus there are alerady nearly entire games produced in such short amount of time. That goes to show how sometimes BASIC can let people do stuff incredibly fast due to the higher level syntax (altough larger than straight asm programming)

Btw, I assume people will upload their games in TI-83 Plus Assembly Games at ticalc, right? Because for 68k, all C games are uploaded in assembly sections, even thought they were not originally written in assembly. I encourage authors to provide their Axe source code with their releases to encourage people to learn the language more ^^
In case you are wondering where I went, I left Omni back in 2015 to form CodeWalrus due to various reasons explained back then, but I stopped calc dev in 2016 and am now mostly active on the CW Discord server at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF


Bandcamp|Reverbnation|Facebook|Youtube|Twitter

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #131 on: February 28, 2010, 10:03:03 am »
Quigibo, awesome!  This looks great! :D

I think I'll concentrate more on Elmgon for the next week-or-more, but I can't wait to work with pointers!  Excellent job!  ;D

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #132 on: February 28, 2010, 12:37:12 pm »
Wow this is incredible, cant wait to get back from vacation to go download this immediately ^^

Out of curiosity, when using the PlotScreen *high* volatility RAM, does that allow you to write to the screen buffer as RAM instead of as Pixels? 

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #133 on: February 28, 2010, 12:42:54 pm »
Not instead, it IS the pixels.  You can write directly on the screen that way if that's your intention.  You're not always using the buffer though, like in a text only game you could write to there as actual storage.

Don't forget to clear some of these buffers.  Like if you don't end the program with a ClrHome but you used the text shadow, you will get garbage on the screen when the program quits.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #134 on: February 28, 2010, 12:49:28 pm »
Well i mean you could write a whole row of 8 pixels with one byte, just because of the way the data is stored, and that could make for some very interesting and fast effects :)

It also could allow for faster line drawing (horizontal anyway XD) since we wouldn't have to write to each horizontal byte 8 times to fill it up.  For vertical your pretty much out of luck :P Now i need to reserect my scrapped line drawing routine and make something fun.