Author Topic: Axe Parser  (Read 498467 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #855 on: June 20, 2010, 02:31:43 am »
Although I didn't exactly keep my promise that I would have a toggle in the parser to have both token spellings, it was only becasue I didn't have time to make a new graphical menu to handle this and I wanted to release it tonight instead of waiting until tomorrow when I'm going to be busy.  However, you can still toggle it simply by removing the dot in the header as the screenshot shows.

The application compiling betas are coming shortly.  They will be emailed in the next hour.  If you don't get an email, you will just have to wait until 0.3.2 which will have the feature assuming there aren't any major problems with my current routines.

Let me know what you think of the new features  :)

EDIT: Actually I found one more bug with the error scrolling I'm going to try to fix so you might have to re-download 0.3.1.  Betas will take a little longer becasue of this.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2010, 02:55:35 am by Quigibo »
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #856 on: June 20, 2010, 02:34:20 am »
That token changing is magnificent!  The fact that all the tokens are tied to that one character, and it manages to update the tokens correctly when you change the data... outstanding, i have no idea how that would be done XD I will have to play with this a lot :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #857 on: June 20, 2010, 03:26:47 am »
Yeah I saw this and it was quite cool. Btw your program was rather small. Does it supports instant goto? I couldn't notice since it didn't need to go down very far.

Nice to see a new update, though, good luck fixing the issue and with app compiling.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Quigibo

  • The Executioner
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +1075/-24
  • I wish real life had a "Save" and "Load" button...
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #858 on: June 20, 2010, 05:50:46 am »
Its a really strange bug that I can't seem to understand.  It appears to be something wrong with the OS bcalls.  It doesn't scroll to the correct location when the programs are too large.  I can't really see where the limit is right now, but its at least 6kb but probably closer to 10kb.  It has nothing to do with the asm executable limit since the source is not being executed and is simply being read, so that isn't the problem.  I'll have to figure this out later.

And yes, the scrolling should be instant now.  I had to fix that too.

Betas coming now.
___Axe_Parser___
Today the calculator, tomorrow the world!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #859 on: June 20, 2010, 11:25:35 am »
Aaah ok. Good luck on the bug
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #860 on: June 21, 2010, 02:32:02 am »
Little question. Is it safe to draw sprites extremly far on the screen? I tried and past 256 it seemed to loop back, but I was curious if crashes could occur?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

_player1537

  • Guest
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #861 on: June 21, 2010, 02:35:38 am »
I think what axe does is take the X and mod it by 256, ie X^256.  AFAIK it should not make any crashes.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #862 on: June 21, 2010, 09:50:26 am »
Nice update Quigibo! :D

Offline Hot_Dog

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3006
  • Rating: +445/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #863 on: June 21, 2010, 10:08:47 am »
Well, I'm assuming that the interrupts are taking up the extra time then.

EDIT: actually, I just used a stopwatch, half a second per 1000 on the pause seems a lot closer.

What would happen if you used interrupts themselves for timing?  For instances, have a little counter in the interrupt section, and everytime you have an interrupt, increase the counter, and then when the counter reaches a certain number, that's a second?

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #864 on: June 21, 2010, 10:12:12 am »
Well, I'm assuming that the interrupts are taking up the extra time then.

EDIT: actually, I just used a stopwatch, half a second per 1000 on the pause seems a lot closer.

What would happen if you used interrupts themselves for timing?  For instances, have a little counter in the interrupt section, and everytime you have an interrupt, increase the counter, and then when the counter reaches a certain number, that's a second?
We could probably do that once he adds support for custom interrupt routines. Until then, we can use the Stop command to do an interrupt-based delay and save power, too :D
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #865 on: June 21, 2010, 12:10:18 pm »
custom interrupts, even if they are small, would be very cool ^^

One concern I have, though: what would happen if Freq/Sinreg was used in interrupts, though?
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Magic Banana

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 371
  • Rating: +77/-1
  • It's not an apple, it's a ... magic banana.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #866 on: June 22, 2010, 08:23:31 pm »
Quick question.

How exactly is Getkey(0) supposed to be used? When I try to store it into a variable, it turns up being some number between ~240 - 255, with no patterns whatsoever in it.
I do sprites and stuff, so yeah.

Quote from: yunhua98
i'M NOT SURE WHAT A SWORD SKILL IS BUT HERE'S THE SWORD ANIMATION FROM THE TWO SPRITES ON PG 13

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #867 on: June 22, 2010, 08:25:52 pm »
You can wait for the user to press any key with:

:Repeat getKey(0)
:End
:While getKey(0)
:End

(It's useful to have the second loop to let them release the key. :) )

Offline qazz42

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1130
  • Rating: +30/-12
  • hiiiiiiiii
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #868 on: June 22, 2010, 08:44:39 pm »
Sadly, I wont be able to use this considering I am still learning Basic  :/

But looks good though I will say that.

Offline Magic Banana

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 371
  • Rating: +77/-1
  • It's not an apple, it's a ... magic banana.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Parser
« Reply #869 on: June 22, 2010, 08:56:23 pm »
Ah, alright. I can see where that might have it's uses.
I do sprites and stuff, so yeah.

Quote from: yunhua98
i'M NOT SURE WHAT A SWORD SKILL IS BUT HERE'S THE SWORD ANIMATION FROM THE TWO SPRITES ON PG 13