Author Topic: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)  (Read 6274 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« on: February 27, 2009, 05:13:11 pm »
Well... I was experimenting with the contrast changing code.
I was just doing a simple fade to white and then back to normal.
Code: [Select]
:real(3,3,0,1
:For(X,23,0,-.1
:real(5,0,X
:End
:real(5,0,23

Well, the first time I get something like what I get from WabbitEmu. (except that it actually fades out)


After a few more tries... everything now displays upside-down.
Typing normally, menus, everything is upside-down.

Turning it on and off doesn't work and neither does uninstalling Celtic III... so I'm going to have to reset after getting all the stuff off of my calc.

So, just a warning... real(5) is screwy. At least in a for loop. I haven't tried it in any other way.

metagross111

  • Guest
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 05:31:00 pm »
hmm, isn't there a CelticIII alternate to changing contrast?

after looking, i guess not.

are you positive you didn't accidentally do real(4), scrollscreen?

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 05:32:50 pm »
Yep. Positive.
Even if I did, (which I didn't) how would that make the entire screen upside-down?
(EDIT: Of course, now that I think about it... the contrast thing shouldn't have made it upside-down either...)
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 05:36:04 pm by {AP} »

metagross111

  • Guest
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 05:36:17 pm »
eh, i dunno. hope a reset works

Offline calc84maniac

  • eZ80 Guru
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2912
  • Rating: +471/-17
    • View Profile
    • TI-Boy CE
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 06:02:16 pm »
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...

Edit: It looks like you're outputting decimals, and Celtic probably expects integers.

If you want to return the screen to normal, run this program:
Code: [Select]
:AsmPrgm
:3E40D310C9
"Most people ask, 'What does a thing do?' Hackers ask, 'What can I make it do?'" - Pablos Holman

Offline Galandros

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1140
  • Rating: +42/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 06:24:14 pm »
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...
Ouch that is very bad. Blue screen of death. Can screw your lcd.
You have to contact Iambian... Even it is only made with bad inputs, is better to do put checks and avoid bad instructions to lcd.
Hobbing in calculator projects.

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2009, 06:39:29 pm »
It looks like he's outputting values to the LCD port outside of the range used for contrast. This has potential to cause the blue screen...

Edit: It looks like you're outputting decimals, and Celtic probably expects integers.

If you want to return the screen to normal, run this program:
Code: [Select]
:AsmPrgm
:3E40D310C9

That makes sense now that you mention it.
I, for some reason, assumed it'd round. No clue why. >_<

Thanks, mate.
Although, the fix you suggested did not work.
Well, it did for the screen placement, but not the upside-down problem.

Offline nitacku

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 300
  • Rating: +30/-1
  • ni-ta-ku ^_^
    • View Profile
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2009, 09:55:50 pm »
haha. yeah, the contrast command excepts positive integers only!
Passing negative values or decimal values can do some crazy things.

metagross111

  • Guest
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2009, 09:57:42 pm »
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2009, 09:59:41 pm »
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.
LOL
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline simplethinker

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 695
  • Rating: +16/-5
  • snjwffl
    • View Profile
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2009, 10:04:13 pm »
you reset your calc yet?

hell, do that sequence again and maybe it will go back upright.
LOL
Sort of like when I hit a pot hole in the road that threw off the steering, then another one got it back :D  It works!
"We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true." -- Professor Robert Silensky



Chip's Challenge: ħ%

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2009, 10:06:38 pm »
Haven't done the reset, (distracted) but I had tried to redo it...
It won't. In fact, it works fine all of a sudden... it's just upside-down.
So... yeah...
Definitely going to have to see whether or not there's any permanent damage.

Offline trevmeister66

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1009
  • Rating: +14/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2009, 10:18:49 pm »
upside down isn't permanent damage?
Projects:    nameless RPG: 1.0%  |  Reverse Snake v1.5: 100%  |  Secret Project: 5%  |  DUNGEON: 70%

My MW2 Blog <-- Please visit :)

Offline {AP}

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 981
  • Rating: +74/-3
  • I am Webmaster!
    • View Profile
    • Removed From Game
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2009, 10:19:48 pm »
I reset the whole thing... (not just the RAM) and it's still upside-down.
So... yeah... I have no idea what I'm going to do now.
It's beyond a major inconvenience.

I guess I can still program at home and test on WabbitEmu... but meh, it'll slow down things even more so.

Offline noahbaby94

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 585
  • Rating: +29/-24
    • View Profile
    • My blog
Re: Progress Halted (Celtic III bug)
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2009, 10:21:40 pm »
I reset the whole thing... (not just the RAM) and it's still upside-down.
So... yeah... I have no idea what I'm going to do now.
It's beyond a major inconvenience.

I guess I can still program at home and test on WabbitEmu... but meh, it'll slow down things even more so.
Uh-oh looks like someone has to resend os.
Have you tried On+clear yet?
That's what she said!!!