• Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread  (Read 94220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CaptainMcClellan

  • LV1 Newcomer (Next: 20)
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #120 on: October 01, 2015, 04:05:24 pm »
Oh. You'd think that they would've had some sort of relay device that expedites the screen drawing considering the disparity there. I personally figured there was a draw buffer that was accessed by bankswitching then pushed to the screen. I'm not an engineer yet, so I don't even know if that'd be the most efficient. That's too bad though, I'd hoped the problem was software side. To me it seems odd to run a 16-bit device with an 8-bit processor though.

Offline Iambian

  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 739
  • Rating: +216/-3
  • Cherry Flavoured Nommer of Fishies
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #121 on: October 07, 2015, 01:41:37 pm »
Oh. You'd think that they would've had some sort of relay device that expedites the screen drawing considering the disparity there. I personally figured there was a draw buffer that was accessed by bankswitching then pushed to the screen. I'm not an engineer yet, so I don't even know if that'd be the most efficient. That's too bad though, I'd hoped the problem was software side. To me it seems odd to run a 16-bit device with an 8-bit processor though.

Apart from the CE, no calculator of the TI-84+ line or lower has had memory mapping, which is pretty much what you just described. And even then, the rest of the hardware is simply ancient. There's only so much you can do with a 15MHz processor where even the fastest instruction requires 4 clock cycles to complete, and to trying to drive 75K 16-bit color pixels with that is just not going to work very well, even with memory-mapping.

And why 16-bit? TI wanted a color calculator to deal with some of their competition, and that's what they could come up with without radically changing the basics of how the calculator is programmed (since their OS still has to run with little modification).

Even though you don't need a supercomputer to do basic addition and multiplication, you still need some minimum specs to make the whole thing work. From what I understood, too many people complained about the CSE's slowness, and so TI responded some time later by releasing the CE, which ran significantly faster due to its use of an ez80 processor with having memory-mapped (almost) everything.

Do remember that these devices were never meant to be used to play games, and so were never built with that capability in mind. The fact that it's possible at all is a testament to the programming community as a whole. I find it nothing short of a miracle that TI-Boy will run with any kind of speed on the CSE.
A Cherry-Flavored Iambian draws near... what do you do? ...

Offline c4ooo

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Rating: +10/-1
  • The impossible chemical compound.
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #122 on: October 11, 2015, 08:38:52 pm »
I don't have the SCE, so I practically ignored this thread, but I might get be getting a CE soon, so I was thinking, would a CE port be possible?
-German Kuznetsov
The impossible chemical compound.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #123 on: October 12, 2015, 10:00:05 pm »
Well, yea. I think we will have one eventually. As to when, hard to say.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6198
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #124 on: October 12, 2015, 10:29:15 pm »
It would require calc84maniac or whoever else has the source getting a CE and taking the time to port it. I'd love to take a stab at it, but I've got another project I'm porting atm.
/e

Offline reaperdan3

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #125 on: March 31, 2016, 02:02:51 pm »
Bug report: Most rom patches don't work, like Pokemon Brown. They function correctly, but it takes forever to load.

Offline Eeems

  • Mr. Dictator
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6198
  • Rating: +318/-36
  • little oof
    • View Profile
    • Eeems
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #126 on: April 04, 2016, 01:33:37 pm »
Bug report: Most rom patches don't work, like Pokemon Brown. They function correctly, but it takes forever to load.
So they don't work or they take forever to load?
/e

Offline reaperdan3

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 2
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #127 on: June 27, 2016, 02:26:58 pm »
Like, the screen goes black and I left my calculator on for 3 days and it never loaded the battle screen.

Offline JustSomeDude

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #128 on: September 02, 2016, 01:05:55 am »
I'm new to this entire forum and was planning on downloading Pokemon Silver to my TI-84 plus C Silver Edition but when I opened TI Connect to try to add the Emulator (I had the ROM file directory and such inputed  TI Connect insisted that the file was an "Incompatible Type". Am I missing something obvious/simple?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7918
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #129 on: September 02, 2016, 06:02:58 am »
I'm new to this entire forum and was planning on downloading Pokemon Silver to my TI-84 plus C Silver Edition but when I opened TI Connect to try to add the Emulator (I had the ROM file directory and such inputed  TI Connect insisted that the file was an "Incompatible Type". Am I missing something obvious/simple?
You cannot simply copy over the ROM to the calculator, you will need to convert it to a calculator-compatible format with the tools provided in the download of TI-Boy CSE

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #130 on: September 03, 2016, 09:43:38 pm »
I'm new to this entire forum and was planning on downloading Pokemon Silver to my TI-84 plus C Silver Edition but when I opened TI Connect to try to add the Emulator (I had the ROM file directory and such inputed  TI Connect insisted that the file was an "Incompatible Type". Am I missing something obvious/simple?
You cannot simply copy over the ROM to the calculator, you will need to convert it to a calculator-compatible format with the tools provided in the download of TI-Boy CSE
^This. It's probably in the readme file. Highly recommended reading. ;)

Offline lloydx13

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 1
  • Rating: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #131 on: October 04, 2016, 01:12:20 am »
Is there any potential of this ruining the calculator?

Offline Asxylem

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 3
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • A GMD,PAD,LoL,CR gamer+violinist,programmr&swimmr
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #132 on: October 05, 2016, 07:37:59 pm »
Which ROM did you guys use? I tried different GBA and GBC ROMS from different websites, and every single one doesn't work can someone suggest a ROM website to use? Many thanks  :mad: :w00t: :thumbsup:

Offline Runer112

  • Moderator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #133 on: October 05, 2016, 10:06:44 pm »
Which ROM did you guys use? I tried different GBA and GBC ROMS from different websites, and every single one doesn't work can someone suggest a ROM website to use? Many thanks  :mad: :w00t: :thumbsup:

As the first post and the readme both mention, this emulator supports only original Game Boy games. Game Boy Color and Game Boy Advance games are not supported (and due to significantly higher emulation requirements and the fact that this project and calculator model is mostly dead, likely never will be).

A suggestion of a my two favorite original Game Boy games that should work: Pokemon Red/Blue (maybe Yellow?) and Link's Awakening (not DX).

Offline Asxylem

  • LV0 Newcomer (Next: 5)
  • Posts: 3
  • Rating: +0/-0
  • A GMD,PAD,LoL,CR gamer+violinist,programmr&swimmr
    • View Profile
Re: Official TI-Boy CSE Alpha Thread
« Reply #134 on: October 06, 2016, 09:40:04 pm »
@Runer112 thx so much i didn't realize I downloaded gba games :banghead: