Author Topic: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire  (Read 34855 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hoffa

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 322
  • Rating: +131/-13
    • View Profile
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #60 on: February 02, 2013, 12:59:34 pm »
I'd actually suggest you use t0xic_kitt3n's mode7 engine that I modified for 8-bit nSDL. It's been optimized to hell, uses tiles and is easily configurable and uses the native rendering resolution. http://ourl.ca/18123/337001

Offline Dapianokid

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 539
  • Rating: +46/-27
  • That one dude
    • View Profile
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #61 on: March 23, 2013, 01:52:30 pm »
This looks like old Sonic CD minigames :)
Keep trying.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #62 on: March 23, 2013, 04:03:28 pm »
Any updates, by the way?

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #63 on: March 23, 2013, 04:20:58 pm »
It's such a coincidence, I started working on it again today ;D I'm in the process of modifying the code to use with t0xic_kitt3n and hoffa' engine.

I've also discovered the worst part of programming : converting a giant 6800*3600 bitmap to a 1024*512 tilemap manually x.x

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Former TI programmer
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55872
  • Rating: +3151/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #64 on: March 23, 2013, 04:30:19 pm »
Pixel by Pixel?? O.O

That must be long >.<. Is it because it screws up when being downsized?

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #65 on: March 23, 2013, 04:41:38 pm »
In fact, I have a giant bitmap, a set of 256 16*16 tiles which happens to correspond to the bitmap, but not the tilemap itself x.x

To clarify things, I have the tileset, the final image composed by the tiles of the tileset, but not the order the tiles have to be put in to generate the image (and this is what I want, since the engine uses that).
« Last Edit: March 23, 2013, 04:42:10 pm by Matrefeytontias »

Offline Dapianokid

  • LV7 Elite (Next: 700)
  • *******
  • Posts: 539
  • Rating: +46/-27
  • That one dude
    • View Profile
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #66 on: March 23, 2013, 06:27:51 pm »
I can help, I have LOTS of free time?
Keep trying.

Offline deeph

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
  • Rating: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • deeph.servhome.org
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #67 on: March 24, 2013, 06:21:39 am »
Can't you find those datas online ?

Or you could automatise the conversion, I'm sure I can make a program that scan the image for tiles and generates the datas as you want (something like the inverse of what I've done there : http://ourl.ca/12441/341898 ), it don't looks that hard.

I would just need the map image, the tile list and the output format.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #68 on: March 24, 2013, 06:42:33 am »
If you could do that, I'd be awesome :D

What I want is a C 2D array of numbers from 0 to 255, with an horizontal scanline.

I attached what I have. Though, I think that the tiles are 2 times bigger that what they should be :/

Offline deeph

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
  • Rating: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • deeph.servhome.org
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #69 on: March 24, 2013, 07:03:24 am »
Ok, but I think there's a background image (the city ?) for the paralax effect, so how will you handle this ? Do you want to use a transparent tile right now (if so, which one ?), or include the city in the map image (if so, I'll have to add its tiles in the tileset) ?

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #70 on: March 24, 2013, 07:06:21 am »
Oh yeah, never mind the city, put a transparency byte which will be 0xff.

And btw, the map and the tiles are a bit different for one thing : all of the black you can see at the outside borders of the map are actually grey on the tileset (they are the tiles of the middle of the tileset).

Offline deeph

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
  • Rating: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • deeph.servhome.org
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #71 on: March 24, 2013, 11:12:06 am »
Ok here it is : http://www.mirari.fr/yVxE (made using PureBasic)

A few things : the tile $ff isn't transparent (it's the wave-thing) so for the background I've used the tile $9a (the blank tile). The converter check if the colors are exactly the same to assume which tile it is, so you may have to modify the tileset later (for other maps) : I've already changed some colors, but not all.

There are two programs : "tiles.exe" reorganize the tileset (easier to use/include) and "map converter.exe" well, it's self-explaining :)

Both works by drag and drop things on it (the unorganized tileset image and the map image).

It just takes a minute or two depending of the size of the map.

The map image you've posted earlier was sized down so I've used this one : http://www.snesmaps.com/maps/F-Zero/F-ZeroMapSelect.html

And I wasn't really sure how you declare a byte field in C (is it possible to make line breaks ?), so you'll see if the output format is what you expected, else I can change it.

By the way, I think you could gain a lot of bytes by using some compression (and then uncompressing the map image on the nspire before races). I can easily add this feature to the program, or even make a map editor when you project will need it.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 11:13:38 am by deeph »

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #72 on: March 24, 2013, 11:18:50 am »
I think there's a problem with your "map converter.exe", it keeps saying that I pass no parameters to it ... I tried both D&D and command line, it keeps not working.

Also, the datas should be in this format :
Code: [Select]
uint8 muteCityTileMap[mapHeight][mapWidth] = {
  { first row of tiles },
  { second row },
...
  {last row}
};
« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 11:22:21 am by Matrefeytontias »

Offline deeph

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
  • Rating: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • deeph.servhome.org
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #73 on: March 24, 2013, 11:58:10 am »
I've changed the format : http://www.mirari.fr/yVxE

What OS are you using ? Windows ?

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: [C] F-Zero : trackSpire
« Reply #74 on: March 24, 2013, 12:01:54 pm »
Yeah I'm using Windows, if it wasn't the case I couldn't have ran *.exe files. And it keeps saying "Aucun paramètre spécifié".

Btw, I'm poking you on OmnomIRC since ten minutes .__.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2013, 12:03:14 pm by Matrefeytontias »