Author Topic: Axe Minesweeper  (Read 41207 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #45 on: September 02, 2010, 01:43:43 am »
DispGraph every pixel change:
Code: [Select]
For(X,0,95
For(Y,0,63
Pxl-Change(X,Y
DispGraph
End
End
Result:

DispGraph every column done updating:
Code: [Select]
For(X,0,95
For(Y,0,63
Pxl-Change(X,Y
End
DispGraph
End
Result:

DispGraph at the very end:
Code: [Select]
For(X,0,95
For(Y,0,63
Pxl-Change(X,Y
End
End
DispGraph
Result:

Should tell you how slow DispGraph is. (thanks to TI crappy LCD drivers)
« Last Edit: September 02, 2010, 01:43:59 am by DJ Omnimaga »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #46 on: September 02, 2010, 01:51:26 am »
Holy crap, when I looked at that first screenshot I thought you posted a TI-BASIC program on accident or something :P I know it's still faster than TI-BASIC but it still looked like it :P
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #47 on: September 02, 2010, 01:53:31 am »
Yeah Dispgraph is pretty darn slow, unfortunately :( But like it is right now is very fine :)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #48 on: September 02, 2010, 02:05:38 am »
Holy crap, when I looked at that first screenshot I thought you posted a TI-BASIC program on accident or something :P I know it's still faster than TI-BASIC but it still looked like it :P
Yeah the first time I ever tried this was in 15 Mhz mode. When I made this prog mins ago I thougth I accidentally ran BASIC code x.x

Hate mail can be sent to TI-Cares.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #49 on: September 02, 2010, 01:02:44 pm »
Wow, DispGraph is slow...

When I first saw that post, I saw the screenshots before I read anything, and I thought you were comparing TI-BASIC to Axe to ASM or something :P

Noticed that too. And how can there be a 1 in a corner with blank squares surrounding it?

The game looks great, though :)

Where are you talking about? I only saw the single "1" in the top left corner.

Yeah, exactly. How can there be a one surrounded on all sides by 0s?




Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #50 on: September 02, 2010, 01:54:30 pm »
It wasn't surrounded by zeros, I didn't even click those squares.  I think this is what it looked like:

1+1 ..... other stuff
+F1 .....
111 .....

Where +'s are unclicked squares and an F is a flag.
That one in the upper left corner was touching a mine on its lower right diagonal
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #51 on: September 02, 2010, 03:42:36 pm »
Oh, whoops, miswatched x.x

The game looks great, by the way.
* Deep Thought loses
« Last Edit: September 02, 2010, 03:42:49 pm by Deep Thought »




Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #52 on: September 02, 2010, 05:40:51 pm »
Ya, only blank squares expand. Numbers just open the square you clicked :) So like Michael_Lee said there were numbers on both sides of it that weren't clicked while a bomb was diagonal to it.
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #53 on: September 02, 2010, 05:51:10 pm »
Yeah, I didn't pay enough attention. I thought it expanded and left a 1 in the corner :D




Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #54 on: September 02, 2010, 05:57:29 pm »
Oh :P Nah, just normal :)
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #55 on: September 03, 2010, 07:00:50 pm »
Okay, update!

I added some new features, they are:
> Options menu - customize the minefield size and the amount of mines (trivia: you can't pick more mines then there's room)
> Increased speed - it now checks only half the time as before, which I found was a good compromise between speed and graphics
> Undo button - accidentally hit a mine?  Undo to restore the state!

Future features:
> Toggle the question mark on/off
> Add the timer
> Add high scores and other appvar goodiness
> Pause in-game (to return to the menu, pause time, etc.)
> Save your game and return to it later!
> Maybe make a larger minefield, which scrolls (Most likely, the minefield won't be able to go over 19x19 - is it worth implementing this feature?)

I'll add some better screenshots in a moment.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #56 on: September 03, 2010, 07:08:09 pm »
Great! Glad to see some progress :) Keep up the good work. Did you do any work with the filling routine? Or is it the same?
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #57 on: September 03, 2010, 07:15:25 pm »
Wow looks pretty nice and the flood filling seems much faster now. Nice job! :)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Hot_Dog

  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3006
  • Rating: +445/-10
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #58 on: September 03, 2010, 07:17:23 pm »
Awesome work!  If you allow the minefield to be larger with scrolling, this will for sure make this game the best ti-83+ minesweeper on the market.

Offline guy6020665

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 481
  • Rating: +7/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #59 on: September 03, 2010, 08:15:19 pm »
Nice Job!!  :D

Looks really cool!

One question, doesn't an undo button take the point out of minesweeper?