Author Topic: My first game  (Read 32905 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #105 on: November 05, 2014, 08:51:47 pm »
The tilemap is at 6mhz. I am redrawing the frames every time the program loops but I draw only a 8*12 square where the character is. I'll try to see if I can implement partial screen updates.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55934
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: My first game
« Reply #106 on: November 06, 2014, 11:27:33 am »
partial screen updates might be challenging to pull off if you got such physics going on. I think it's possible, but challenging, since you need to ensure the missing line of blocks is drawn at the right location after shifting the screen around, so good luck. It would definitively improve speed a lot, though.

Offline chickendude

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 816
  • Rating: +90/-1
  • Pro-Riot Squad
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #107 on: November 07, 2014, 11:14:43 am »
You can still redraw the full map every frame, i just think the method for drawing is a bit slow. Rather than draw each sprite individually and having to recalculate the address in the gbuf you can look into inlining the sprite routine into your tilemap so you don't have to recalculate the gbuf position for each sprite. Actually, i think giving the character a bit of acceleration (being able to move 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, etc. pixels per frame) would help quite a bit. I really like the smoothness of it all, though :D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55934
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: My first game
« Reply #108 on: November 07, 2014, 11:17:11 am »
By the way, do you use floating points for character movement? That could possibly cause slowdowns, unlike fixed points and integers.

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: My first game
« Reply #109 on: November 07, 2014, 11:32:49 am »
You can't use floating points in Axe, what are you talking about ? >_> You can only really load them and store them. Unless he uses the axiom, but I doubt it.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55934
  • Rating: +3153/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • DJ Omnimaga Music
Re: My first game
« Reply #110 on: November 07, 2014, 11:35:06 am »
I thought we could? O.O I guess I forgot about the Axiom.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #111 on: November 09, 2014, 09:07:41 pm »
Slight update: I added hanging on the wall until two blocks above the floor(you have to be against the wall and hold the arrows in that direction to hang). you can punch the enemy with holding mode but it doesn't do anything yet. There is a bug that the enemy collision detection bugs out at the top stair (it turns from 104 to 1034). The numbers are there for testing purposes.

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: My first game
« Reply #112 on: November 10, 2014, 10:59:15 am »
Seems like you're progressing nicely! I'm excited to see how this turns out. Sadly I can't try it, because my 84+ link port is broken D:
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #113 on: November 13, 2014, 10:09:13 pm »
I am now working on the health bar but as you can see in the gif, there is a exp that is currently linked up to when you kill an enemy. Exp will probably used in a skill tree but can anyone draw a better exp bar for me because I think my current version is to plain.

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: My first game
« Reply #114 on: November 14, 2014, 03:42:04 am »
I'm impressed, is this really your first game? It's got really nice graphics and it looks pretty advanced so far. Keep it up! :D
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: My first game
« Reply #115 on: November 14, 2014, 07:09:55 am »
I'm impressed, is this really your first game? It's got really nice graphics and it looks pretty advanced so far. Keep it up! :D
This

it's looking quite awesome, especially for your first game o.O

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline aeTIos

  • Nonbinary computing specialist
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3915
  • Rating: +184/-32
    • View Profile
    • wank.party
Re: My first game
« Reply #116 on: November 14, 2014, 10:15:53 am »
I'm totally jealous of those 8x8 stickman sprites. Wish I had those when I was working on Continuity.
I'm not a nerd but I pretend:

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #117 on: November 15, 2014, 07:23:00 pm »
The character sprites are made by Deep Thought. They were meant for blast labs but it got discontinued so I decided to use those sprites. Also, how can you save 30 different character values into one appvar? Like {L2},{L2+1},etc... because I am now trying to implement saving into the game.

Offline Omegaxis213

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Rating: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: My first game
« Reply #118 on: November 16, 2014, 11:02:17 pm »
I am now using appvars to save the game, but should I save the player coordinates or not because every new thing I need to save is another thing that I need to archive which takes a while.

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 428
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Re: My first game
« Reply #119 on: November 16, 2014, 11:29:46 pm »
It depends. Are coordinates important enough to save that you want to spend the time? How much longer does saving coords take? It would seem nice, esp. if levels were very big.
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 50g, HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP 28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE