Author Topic: Quasilat  (Read 11856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #30 on: March 07, 2011, 04:10:03 pm »
I like the new version better. At first it seems easy, but I think it is fine because even with the lower difficulty, I still couldn't beat level 5 easily.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #31 on: March 07, 2011, 07:33:00 pm »
This is a wonderful game.  I really need to put it on my calculator so I can experience it in it's full glory. :D
The third game seems a little flickery, but that's my only complaint. ;D

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #32 on: March 07, 2011, 09:12:16 pm »
@jsj: I'll probably save one highscore in a future release.  ;)

@DJ: Well...  ;D

Spoiler For level 3:
Just press DEL and let go, press it again, and let go of it again (all quite quickly), keeping the beam balanced, and you should be fine.
Spoiler For level 5:
First, make sure no enemies are "dangerous" (able to kill you soon if you don't move). If there are, move your character to dodge them. Then, estimate where the ball in Pong will land, and move your paddle to that spot. If you can't quite yet do that (since more "dangerous" enemies came out), move the paddle partially to the desired spot, and dodge the enemies in Dodge. Repeat this process.

@ztrumpet: Thanks! The flicker is caused by Pt-On and Pt-Off being not fast enough, probably, so I'm not sure I can fix it. :-\ I'll try, though.

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #33 on: March 07, 2011, 09:44:20 pm »
@ztrumpet: Thanks! The flicker is caused by Pt-On and Pt-Off being not fast enough, probably, so I'm not sure I can fix it. :-\ I'll try, though.
Try changing the order of the code so it goes like this (or something similar):
<stuff>
Pt-Off
Line(...0)
Pt-On
Line
<other stuff>
If they're closer together, it won't flicker as much. ;)
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 09:44:34 pm by ztrumpet »

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #34 on: March 07, 2011, 10:36:46 pm »
@jsj: I'll probably save one highscore in a future release.  ;)

@DJ: Well...  ;D

Spoiler For level 3:
Just press DEL and let go, press it again, and let go of it again (all quite quickly), keeping the beam balanced, and you should be fine.
Spoiler For level 5:
First, make sure no enemies are "dangerous" (able to kill you soon if you don't move). If there are, move your character to dodge them. Then, estimate where the ball in Pong will land, and move your paddle to that spot. If you can't quite yet do that (since more "dangerous" enemies came out), move the paddle partially to the desired spot, and dodge the enemies in Dodge. Repeat this process.

@ztrumpet: Thanks! The flicker is caused by Pt-On and Pt-Off being not fast enough, probably, so I'm not sure I can fix it. :-\ I'll try, though.
Yeah I know, I guess it was because I was playing on emulator. X.x

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #35 on: March 09, 2011, 08:46:55 pm »

Quasilat v1.2


Lots of new features!

*Used QUASINEW.8xp for the new version, but kept the original Balance game
*The ball in Balance is on top of the balance beam now.
*Fixed the glitch in Balance in the secret mode
*Added highscores!
*Optimized parts of the program; 1969 bytes
*Better title screen! (Well, only a little better...)
*Uploaded to ticalc.org (previous upload was version 0.9)

The third game seems a little flickery, but that's my only complaint. ;D

I think the flickering is better, now that I placed the ball on top of the line.

My high scores:
Normal-1085
Hard-756

Spoiler For And, if you're dying to know what the "secret" mode is...:
Spoiler For Do you really want to know?:
Press [MATH] once at the title screen, and start the game. :)

EDIT: Attached file. How come I always forget? :P
EDIT 2: Fixed the bug ztrumpet mentioned.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:21:19 pm by program4 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #36 on: March 09, 2011, 09:13:12 pm »
Wonderful game (after I hacked my way in).  It looks very polished, except there's no way to get a highscore on hard without first knowing to press [Math].  I still think the third one is a little flickery, but other than that it's very, very cool. :)

Note:  You cannot take the log of 0.  May I suggest something like this log(Ans+not(Ans)) when you put the value before that expression.  Try running the program after deleting the high score list. ;)

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #37 on: March 09, 2011, 09:20:08 pm »
Note:  You cannot take the log of 0.  May I suggest something like this log(Ans+not(Ans)) when you put the value before that expression.  Try running the program after deleting the high score list. ;)

Oh, yeah, I was planning to do that, but I forgot when I was coding it in. :P

Wonderful game (after I hacked my way in).  It looks very polished, except there's no way to get a highscore on hard without first knowing to press [Math].  I still think the third one is a little flickery, but other than that it's very, very cool. :)

Thanks!

Do you think I should just "give away" the secret feature to prevent confusion?

Also, I'm not sure I can limit the flicker any more.  :(
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:21:37 pm by program4 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #38 on: March 09, 2011, 09:21:24 pm »
Maybe moving the box up one pixel would work. :)

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #39 on: March 09, 2011, 09:29:02 pm »
I'm not sure what you mean. Like, moving the box one up from how it is right now?

Like, from this:

                   o
=============================


To this:

                   o

=============================


Because, if I do that, the ball looks like it is floating in the air sometimes.  :-\
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:29:17 pm by program4 »

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #40 on: March 09, 2011, 09:35:15 pm »
Because, if I do that, the ball looks like it is floating in the air sometimes.  :-\
Ah, that could be a little strange.  How are you determining where to place the ball now?

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #41 on: March 09, 2011, 09:37:16 pm »
So, I have the equation of the line. I use that, and given the x-coordinate of the point, I find the y-coordinate so that the point lies on the line. Then, I move the point 2 pixels up. I think the floating is caused by how the line is made of pixels instead of being perfectly straight...
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:37:45 pm by program4 »

Offline ralphdspam

  • LV8 Addict (Next: 1000)
  • ********
  • Posts: 841
  • Rating: +38/-1
  • My name is actually Matt.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #42 on: March 09, 2011, 09:48:45 pm »
I am having a problem running the program.  :(
Every time the parser runs into
Code: [Select]
1+2randInt(1,16), it says "ERR:OVERFLOW" ???
(When I run it from HomeScreen, it does the same thing too)
Perhaps an OS 2.55 problem?
ld a, 0
ld a, a

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #43 on: March 09, 2011, 09:50:06 pm »
I am having a problem running the program.  :(
Every time the parser runs into
Code: [Select]
1+2randInt(1,16), it says "ERR:OVERFLOW" ???
(When I run it from HomeScreen, it does the same thing too)
Perhaps an OS 2.55 problem?
Try doing a 0->rand on the homescreen.  (Some assembly program didn't clip their sprites...)

So, I have the equation of the line. I use that, and given the x-coordinate of the point, I find the y-coordinate so that the point lies on the line. Then, I move the point 2 pixels up. I think the floating is caused by how the line is made of pixels instead of being perfectly straight...
Okay, cool.  What if you did a pixel test on each of the corners to see if it needs to move up or down after finding the y, as "fine tuning"? :D
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:51:22 pm by ztrumpet »

Offline program4

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Quasilat
« Reply #44 on: March 09, 2011, 09:52:30 pm »
I am having a problem running the program.  :(
Every time the parser runs into
Code: [Select]
1+2randInt(1,16), it says "ERR:OVERFLOW" ???
(When I run it from HomeScreen, it does the same thing too)
Perhaps an OS 2.55 problem?
Try doing a 0->rand on the homescreen.  (Some assembly program didn't clip their sprites...)

I had that problem twice also, after I used Doors CS to run some assembly programs. I just used the "Reset Defaults" option in the memory menu, but I guess ztrumpet's solution is better :P

For my program, I'm probably just going to have the "hard" mode as an option in the main menu, since it is basically impossible to beat level 15. :P

So, I have the equation of the line. I use that, and given the x-coordinate of the point, I find the y-coordinate so that the point lies on the line. Then, I move the point 2 pixels up. I think the floating is caused by how the line is made of pixels instead of being perfectly straight...
Okay, cool.  What if you did a pixel test on each of the corners to see if it needs to move up or down after finding the y, as "fine tuning"? :D

I could try that. Hopefully it won't slow the program down too much.  :D
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 09:56:21 pm by program4 »