Author Topic: Text Box System Module - Brass  (Read 4510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Text Box System Module - Brass
« on: March 09, 2014, 10:46:22 pm »
So over the last couple weeks I have been working on a small side project that will be being used in an upcoming project of Iambian's and mine. This project is a Text Subsystem that would be used in an RPG.
    Features
    * Arbitrary Bounding Box
    * 5xW Font (Borrowed with permission from DCS)
    * Customizable Corners
    * Word Wrapping
    * Character  Wrapping
    * Post processing Effect (see next list)
    * Supporting Routines
    Post Processors
    * Italics
    * Mirror
    * Flip
    * Inverse
    * Underline
It comes with a host of supporting routines to make interfacing with it easier for the end coder
    Routines
    * NewLine
    * HomeUp
    * SetFulScreen
    * SetBoundsStack

The program is interfaced with 2 Main routines these are DrawBox And PutStr. PutStr Puts the null terminated string pointed to by hd inside the bounded box that has been defined. DrawBox Draws the visual Box around the Text and takes the corner style in A.

The PutStr Routine supports inline modifiers for the text output that is supplemented via a macro.
Mod(Italics,Underline,Flip,Mirror,Inverse,WordWrap) OR any combination of the settings. Which makes adding effects to strings rather easy.

Ok enough Jargon Lets put some examples and screenies :D

.db "Welcome to Cemetech",CrlF,Mod(Italics,Underline),"LTTFW",0


.db "This Is right up",CrLf,Mod(Mirror,Flip),"This is not!",0


.db Mod(Inverse),"White",Mod(Clear),"Black",Mod(Inverse),"White",Mod(Clear),"Black",0.db Mod(Inverse),"White",Mod(Clear)," Black",Mod(Inverse),"White",Mod(Clear)," Black",0


Its' Word Wrapping is rather robust.


And it supports style changes by changing a byte in ram :D


Why is there no release? Because this is just a showing of it so far I have to polish some of the code and make some changes to make it so when compiled with a DCS program you don't have to include the entire DCS font map and other things. (saves a few hundred bytes worth of data!)

So thoughts and suggestions/Things you would like to see?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2014, 10:10:38 am »
This is looking pretty awesome so far! Can't wait to see more of it :)

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2014, 01:47:59 pm »
Looks like a very robust system ! :D I can't stop thinking of an OpenOffice-like program ;D

Suggestions : would it be feasible to have different text sizes ? Embedded images ? Scrolling text for larger-than-screen document viewing ?

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2014, 01:52:02 pm »
Looks like a very robust system ! :D I can't stop thinking of an OpenOffice-like program ;D
[...]
Erm, there is already DCS's text editor.

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2014, 01:56:29 pm »
Looks like a very robust system ! :D I can't stop thinking of an OpenOffice-like program ;D

Suggestions : would it be feasible to have different text sizes ? Embedded images ? Scrolling text for larger-than-screen document viewing ?
Text sizes no as its all based off a static font map.  In line images I see no reason why not but is past the scope of what im making(though I plan on editing the font to have basic ascii images for simple art/text maps) .  And anything is possible it's based around a putchar routine so you could technically make it do anything you wanted! I'll have a text stroller demo soon for an rpg. Just didn't get there the other night

Offline Matrefeytontias

  • Axe roxxor (kinda)
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1982
  • Rating: +310/-12
  • Axe roxxor
    • View Profile
    • RMV Pixel Engineers
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2014, 03:53:03 pm »
Looks like a very robust system ! :D I can't stop thinking of an OpenOffice-like program ;D
[...]
Erm, there is already DCS's text editor.
Well heh, it requires DCS. I usually don't even have 16384 bytes of free flash.

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2014, 04:03:18 pm »
Just to make debate. I personally don't see the point of a text editor on calc it's rather pointless when compared to pen and paper.  And is honestly more cumbersome ton work with then anything else. 

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2014, 04:14:22 pm »
Just to make debate. I personally don't see the point of a text editor on calc it's rather pointless when compared to pen and paper.  And is honestly more cumbersome ton work with then anything else. 
I have two arguments
  • You don't always have a pen or paper, and personnally, I almost always have a calculator with me
  • You can easily lose the paper you wrote on but less easily lose your calc
Now, those arguments can be defeated with the word "phone" for most people but they applied for me last year when my phone was complete crap.

(also, it's "more than", not "more then", "then" is for what comes next, "than" is for comparisons ;))
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline willrandship

  • Omnimagus of the Multi-Base.
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2953
  • Rating: +98/-13
  • Insert sugar to begin programming subroutine.
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2014, 04:16:22 pm »
The biggest reason to have a decent on-calc text editor, I think, is so we can move away from the idea of using the built-in BASIC editor for programming. It's a bad editor for non-tokenized languages. If we had a real text editor then we might even be able to get named functions in an on-calc language.

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2014, 07:16:07 pm »
The biggest reason to have a decent on-calc text editor, I think, is so we can move away from the idea of using the built-in BASIC editor for programming. It's a bad editor for non-tokenized languages. If we had a real text editor then we might even be able to get named functions in an on-calc language.

I would Rather see a specific app for this then a hacked up text editor that can export tokens. That's just my opinion though. making some code base changes to add a few internal features tonight hopefully it pans out.

Offline TIfanx1999

  • ಠ_ಠ ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 6173
  • Rating: +191/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2014, 11:28:20 pm »
I see this is coming along quite nicely. Good work guys! :D

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2014, 11:31:03 pm »


Did a little grunt work then made some fancy animations :3

Offline Sorunome

  • Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox Fox!
  • Support Staff
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 7920
  • Rating: +374/-13
  • Derpy Hooves
    • View Profile
    • My website! (You might lose the game)
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2014, 06:49:32 am »
looking awesome :P

THE GAME
Also, check out my website
If OmnomIRC is screwed up, blame me!
Click here to give me an internet!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2014, 04:16:08 pm »
Looks nice geek! :D

THis reminds me, I should maybe revive the text box engine I had in The Reign of Legends 4ever back in 2004, but use xLIB instead of CODEX and merge it with the text/menu engine in the 2007 incarnation of The Reign of Legends 4. This could be handy for people who makes RPGs.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Geekboy1011

  • The Oneironaut
  • Donator
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2031
  • Rating: +119/-2
  • Dream that Awakening dream
    • View Profile
Re: Text Box System Module - Brass
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2014, 04:20:27 pm »
Yeah the only problem I am having as of the moment is I need a masked sprite routine for the Corners. I will probably have to rewrite the code for the corners sadly to accommodate. When I designed it at first I did not account for the fact that I need them masked >.<