Author Topic: YAMGT  (Read 87076 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #180 on: February 10, 2011, 08:05:32 pm »
OK, thanks ;D
The source is attached to the post above on the previous page when you want to start.

Come to think of it, something like sandland's what I'm shooting for--character locked in middle, smoothscrolling...
« Last Edit: February 10, 2011, 09:26:03 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: Tio
« Reply #181 on: February 10, 2011, 08:06:25 pm »
awesome! :D I think I'll make some tonight

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #182 on: February 10, 2011, 08:41:03 pm »
I was wondering...which loop structure is more economical?
Code: [Select]
0→D
For(B,0,14
B*4→Y
For(A,0,23
A*4→X
.stuff
D+1→D
End
End
or this...
Code: [Select]
For(D,0,359
D/24→Y
D-(Y*24)4→X
Y*4→Y
.stuff
End

Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Tio
« Reply #183 on: February 10, 2011, 08:43:46 pm »
I'd say the first one. Division is almost always long and complicated, while *4 is just two bytes.




Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #184 on: February 10, 2011, 08:44:49 pm »
Ok, thanks
I don't know much about asm, pretty much just to abuse something called HL :P
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Tio
« Reply #185 on: February 10, 2011, 08:46:12 pm »
Yeah, the command *4 is basically
Code: (TI-ASM) [Select]
    add hl,hl
    add hl,hl

ADD HL,HL is a one-byte instruction that multiplies HL by two. It's the most efficient way of multiplying anything.




Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #186 on: February 10, 2011, 08:54:51 pm »
So that's why it's better if they're both powers of 2, now I know :D
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Tio
« Reply #187 on: February 10, 2011, 08:59:18 pm »
Yup. :)

This is looking great!  How much do you still have left to do before you call it "finished"? :D

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #188 on: February 10, 2011, 09:00:10 pm »
Scrolling, some optional level set, storyline(?), better menu.
I think that's it...
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Ashbad

  • Guest
Re: Tio
« Reply #189 on: February 10, 2011, 09:14:10 pm »
Mah Tio level

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #190 on: February 10, 2011, 09:15:53 pm »
thx, will test when possible done

Great ;D
If there's a levelset made before scrolling, this will be included.
I died something like 20 times :P

Actually, playing this level showed me a few glitches in the engine that can impact gameplay...
Like, near the end, where you're jumping from platform to platform.  Don't jump on the last one, but go under it.
Or, how in the part where you go up the screen using the bouncies (I really need a better name for them :P) you have to bounce twice or hit the bouncy on the top to get into the hole on top.

I'm not sure whether I should fix these, or leave them as is...


Another idea I got was to split the game and level editor into separate programs.  Right now, the (unoptimized) executable is ~5K...it's getting uncomfortably close to the 8811 limit.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 12:35:37 am by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Tio
« Reply #191 on: February 11, 2011, 10:18:08 am »
Darl181, could you please make it so that if I try to draw a certain type of block over the same type of block, the one below won't be deleted?

Also, when I press right, left, up or down on the borders it won't reappear on the other side?

These are personal options, but my friends agreed, so...

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Tio
« Reply #192 on: February 11, 2011, 10:57:42 am »
Quote
so that if I try to draw a certain type of block over the same type of block, the one below won't be deleted?
So, you mean nothing would happen, it would just skip over it?

And take out the wraparound, I can do that.  Maybe when I split the game and level editor apart, I can make an options menu for each or something.

Actually, come to think of it, in the next release i can put comments in the source telling what part does what, say instead of If X>>24:0→X:End it would be If X>>24:24→X:End
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 11:00:50 am by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Tio
« Reply #193 on: February 11, 2011, 11:19:17 am »
Quote
so that if I try to draw a certain type of block over the same type of block, the one below won't be deleted?
So, you mean nothing would happen, it would just skip over it?

And take out the wraparound, I can do that.  Maybe when I split the game and level editor apart, I can make an options menu for each or something.

Actually, come to think of it, in the next release i can put comments in the source telling what part does what, say instead of If X>>24:0→X:End it would be If X>>24:24→X:End

Yeah, skip it would be perfect!

I also think that we could be able to make maps without the black blocks below. Not sure if others agree, though. What I think is, if you fall, you die.

Also, the wrapping around would be perfect too.

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Tio
« Reply #194 on: February 11, 2011, 05:25:58 pm »
Here ya go. It runs at about 22 FPS....

at 6mhz ;D

btw STIOE is the level editor..i put it in a separate source file for convenience
Note there is a small bug with the jumping in the screenie, but it is fixed in attached src
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 05:27:14 pm by squidgetx »