Author Topic: Metroid Chozo Mission  (Read 92320 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #135 on: November 27, 2010, 06:39:34 pm »
Menus are quite large most of the time. The Reign of Legends 4 was gonna have a dynamic menu system, but it was still in the 3 KBs because of all the stuff that had to be hard-coded. For a RPG you also got the battle engine, events, walking engine, map loading, title screen, etc. In some extreme cases, you may be forced to put the menu and battles in a totally different program.

A menu is large? My menus, both for basic and Axe are the smallest part of the code, but that's because they're number based.

You may be right, menus with cursor can be very long and larg
Menus can become evilly large. My in-game menu for Nostalgia is about 9500 bytes and I still haven't implemented everything.

oh my indeed good sir.  Good sir that is a great matter of space indeed good sir for a menu indeed good sir.

Offline squidgetx

  • Food.
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • *
  • Posts: 1881
  • Rating: +503/-17
  • rawr.
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #136 on: November 27, 2010, 07:18:29 pm »
holy...finaleTI what's IN there???

although this isn't the quite the best place to discuss that lol :P

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #137 on: November 27, 2010, 07:20:38 pm »
very true indeed good sir.

nice to see you got the thing working, Ti-DKS! :D :D :D

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #138 on: November 28, 2010, 09:26:31 am »
Okay thanks ! I've already done list, but changing XandY values isn't too easy because arriving direction must be seen in way to do that :( and it is very long to code !
ps : I succeeded in that way 5 minutes ago and I done half of the work on it ;D

Great, step by step this game is getting better and better. Any predictions on the date of a beta release?

Offline Ti-DkS

  • Project Author
  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Rating: +21/-1
  • In retro, we trust !
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #139 on: November 28, 2010, 12:34:16 pm »
Sorry ScoutDavid but I've no idea of it. The problem with me is sometimes work go very fast and other times it goes very slow (and there is scholar work too :( ). However, it mainly remains to me to code :
¤ missiles & other weapons (time : quite fast for me)
¤ AI's & bosses movements and attacks (time : quite long for me)
¤ Items (time : quite fast)
¤ room transitions (time : quite fast)
¤ menus (time : fast)
¤ maps (time : long but if my engine is finished it will be easy to do ;) )
Here is, so I think my beta will come when it will be a real story with objectives, missions, etc... and then I will release regarding eventual bugs people can find in the game ;D

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #140 on: November 28, 2010, 01:49:57 pm »
well, I'm glad to see that enemies problem is now fixed, can I haz screenie?  I really want to see it in action, it will be pretty cool I'm sure :)

Offline Ti-DkS

  • Project Author
  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Rating: +21/-1
  • In retro, we trust !
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #141 on: November 28, 2010, 02:00:13 pm »
Ooops ! I ve not fixed totally ennemies yet, when I said AI's moves I meant ennemies ::) I'm working on it now and I'm on the good way but coding all cases takes a long time ! (hoping a switch command for Axe ;D )
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 02:03:57 pm by Ti-DkS »

ASHBAD_ALVIN

  • Guest
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #142 on: November 28, 2010, 02:32:12 pm »
well, that's fine!  As long as you broke the obstacle and progress is flowing! ;D

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #143 on: November 28, 2010, 02:51:32 pm »
Menus aren't too bad if you make a generic menu subroutine; that's only like 500 bytes or less in Axe, but you still have to hardcode all the different options which could take up a lot more space :x
In the Reign of legends 4 menu, you specified your options in a string and the menu size (height/width/options per row/col). Then you run a program that displays everything for you and it does the option selection for you. When selecting something it stores the option ID in a variable or ans, I think. If you cancel, it returns 0. If you select an empty slot or if the option has a space as the first character, selecting it does nothing.

Sorry ScoutDavid but I've no idea of it. The problem with me is sometimes work go very fast and other times it goes very slow (and there is scholar work too :( ). However, it mainly remains to me to code :
¤ missiles & other weapons (time : quite fast for me)
¤ AI's & bosses movements and attacks (time : quite long for me)
¤ Items (time : quite fast)
¤ room transitions (time : quite fast)
¤ menus (time : fast)
¤ maps (time : long but if my engine is finished it will be easy to do ;) )
Here is, so I think my beta will come when it will be a real story with objectives, missions, etc... and then I will release regarding eventual bugs people can find in the game ;D
Cool, I hope you finish this project. :) feel free to ask help if you need any. :)

Also continue doing lots of backups! :)
« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 02:51:58 pm by DJ Omnimaga »
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Ti-DkS

  • Project Author
  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Rating: +21/-1
  • In retro, we trust !
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #144 on: November 29, 2010, 02:05:25 pm »
updates :
- ennemies following samus coded (way of moving of metroids) ;D
- fixing ennemies walking (or flying) between 2 points :)
- issues with ennemies moving around walls :
*tile detection up/dwn/lft/rght : done
*x and y increasing or decreasing if the are different to destX and destY : done
* destX and destY calculation regarding differents cases of wall detection : bugging
Does anyone has an algorithm or have I to code all collision detection cases ? ???

edit : items coded ;)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 03:51:08 pm by Ti-DkS »

Offline Munchor

  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 6199
  • Rating: +295/-121
  • Code Recycler
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #145 on: November 29, 2010, 05:37:50 pm »
updates :
- ennemies following samus coded (way of moving of metroids) ;D
- fixing ennemies walking (or flying) between 2 points :)
- issues with ennemies moving around walls :
*tile detection up/dwn/lft/rght : done
*x and y increasing or decreasing if the are different to destX and destY : done
* destX and destY calculation regarding differents cases of wall detection : bugging
Does anyone has an algorithm or have I to code all collision detection cases ? ???

edit : items coded ;)

Great, I see the 'Stuff to update before release List' getting shorter!!

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #146 on: November 30, 2010, 02:04:07 am »
Nice! It's progressing very well! For collision I hope you get it sorted out. feel free to use the Axe forum to ask for help in case people notice faster there.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Ti-DkS

  • Project Author
  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Rating: +21/-1
  • In retro, we trust !
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #147 on: November 30, 2010, 04:55:20 pm »
okay ;)

Edit : Save Units (not save system) added, but it remains impossible to change room because doors doesn't working yet. I' hard working on it of course ;D

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #148 on: November 30, 2010, 05:00:32 pm »
This sounds like it's progressing smoothly.  I'm glad it's going well. :D

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Metroid Chozo Mission
« Reply #149 on: November 30, 2010, 11:22:25 pm »
Save Units (not save system) added, but it remains impossible to change room because doors doesn't working yet. I' hard working on it of course ;D

Lol ;D Does the save state reflect everything about the game or merely the room you are in?