Author Topic: Features Wishlist  (Read 613738 times)

0 Members and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3045 on: April 07, 2012, 02:55:21 pm »
What I mean is instead of Pt-Mask only looking 8 bytes forward, you would be able to tell it where the second sprite is.
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3046 on: April 07, 2012, 03:16:09 pm »
The Pt-Mask() routine is already really tight on register usage. Keeping track of another 16-bit value would be difficult and would require a pretty fair amount of restructuring and added size/slowness to the routine. And I feel that using non-sequential front and back sprites is not a common occurrence, so doesn't warrant this restructuring.

If you really need functionality like this, you could implement it yourself with a subroutine that copies the two 8-byte sprites to a sequential 16-byte section of RAM and then calls Pt-Mask() routine.

Offline Darl181

  • «Yo buddy, you still alive?»
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3408
  • Rating: +305/-13
  • VGhlIEdhbWU=
    • View Profile
    • darl181.webuda.com
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3047 on: April 15, 2012, 01:50:44 am »
Ok, how about this...
Two (sort of, more like 4) requests :P

1) a signed Disp, so numbers >32768 would display the respective negative number.  Ie instead of 65472 it would print  -   64 , prolly requiring six spaces to work in instead of the normal five.  Or maybe even have the negative sign next to the topmost digit, if it's smaller code-wise ;D
1a) something similar for Text()
1b) support for one-byte numbers, maybe check the syntax at compile-time?

2) a Disp that advances only as many digits as the number needs

They would all be optional, so the existing commands aren't changed.

E: changed "bit" to "byte" >.<
« Last Edit: May 06, 2012, 03:00:38 pm by Darl181 »
Vy'o'us pleorsdti thl'e gjaemue

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3048 on: May 06, 2012, 09:30:22 am »
Why not adding in the Commands.html the size of each routine and the size of each routine call ? :D
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3049 on: May 06, 2012, 11:51:44 am »
Why not adding in the Commands.html the size of each routine and the size of each routine call ? :D

That actually might be a pretty good idea, since people always ask about this information and it's nowhere to be found. Perhaps speed data could be added as well? My only concern is that theses would complicate the otherwise fairly clean and simple command list.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2012, 11:52:54 am by Runer112 »

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3050 on: May 06, 2012, 11:57:55 am »
Perhaps speed data could be added as well?
Yes, I thought about it but forgot to post it >.<

My only concern is that theses would complicate the otherwise fairly clean and simple command list.
For now there are two columns: "Command" and "Description". Maybe three little columns could be added, like "routine size", "call size" and "cycles" ?
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3051 on: June 19, 2012, 09:20:18 am »
Maybe add that programs compiled to Axe Fusion won't crash when axe isn't installed. E. g. let it return to homescreen when the axe app can't be found.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3052 on: June 19, 2012, 04:39:28 pm »
Maybe add that programs compiled to Axe Fusion won't crash when axe isn't installed. E. g. let it return to homescreen when the axe app can't be found.

This is semi-supported. If Axe is not found, the program should display a message that Axe was not found and exit cleanly. However, programs compiled as Axe Fusion currently don't check that the version of Axe found actually supports Axe Fusion, which will result in a crash when the program tries to reference nonexistent command vectors in Axe.

If the program crashes and Axe 1.1.2 exists on the calculator, then you should mosey on over to the Bug Reports thread. :P
« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 04:39:52 pm by Runer112 »

Offline MGOS

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 336
  • Rating: +95/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3053 on: June 20, 2012, 12:24:46 am »
No, it only wasn't the latest version of axe on that calc and he accidentally ran an axe fusion program.

Offline Runer112

  • Project Author
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2289
  • Rating: +639/-31
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3054 on: June 20, 2012, 10:31:41 am »
Okay, that's a known issue. Hopefully that will be fixed in the next version of Axe. :)

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3055 on: July 09, 2012, 01:07:31 pm »
I am quoting what I asked in the wrong topic so my feature request is actually in the Features Wishlist.

Would it be possible to have equates ?
I mean that for example if I write this
   test equ {V+17}
each time the parser hits the word "test", it replaces it with "{V+17}" before translating it into asm.

(note that here, V+17→°test would not work since V+17 is not constant)
EDIT: Oh, I see, that way if FOO translated to {V+17}, you could do something like 23→FOO and FOO→X and both would be valid statements.

It would still be no different than using {V+17} everywhere though, since FOO wouldn't actually exist. It'd be more like a macro than anything.
Yes that's it. It would not save space in any way. It is just so I can easily see who is who in my appvar. Because I have wood, stone and apples (among others) and having this
   {V+17}^^r equ wood
   {V+19}^^r equ stone
   {V+21}^^r equ apple
would be of a great help for me to understand my code easier. So would it be possible ?
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Hayleia

  • Programming Absol
  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3367
  • Rating: +393/-7
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3056 on: July 16, 2012, 02:59:29 pm »
Double posting, with another feature request:
Could the possibility to declare constants as follow be added ?
  18→°Var1+1→°Var2+5→°Var3
I own: 83+ ; 84+SE ; 76.fr ; CX CAS ; Prizm ; 84+CSE
Sorry if I answer with something that seems unrelated, English is not my primary language and I might not have understood well. Sorry if I make English mistakes too.

click here to know where you got your last +1s

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3057 on: August 10, 2012, 12:19:16 am »
Could the UnArchive command be modified to return the address of the unarchived var if it was successful, and 0 if unsuccessful?
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline Freyaday

  • The One And Only Serial Time Killing Catboy-Capoeirista-Ballerino
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1970
  • Rating: +128/-15
  • I put on my robe and pixel hat...
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3058 on: September 10, 2012, 12:49:31 am »
Ability to display a string of tokens?
In other news, Frey continues kicking unprecedented levels of ass.
Proud member of LF#N--Lolis For #9678B6 Names


I'm a performer at heart; I stole it last week.
My Artwork!

Offline pimathbrainiac

  • Occasionally I make projects
  • Members
  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1731
  • Rating: +136/-23
  • dagaem
    • View Profile
Re: Features Wishlist
« Reply #3059 on: October 31, 2012, 09:53:44 am »
How about a larger app max compile size
I am Bach.