Author Topic: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire  (Read 83323 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Streetwalrus

  • LV12 Extreme Poster (Next: 5000)
  • ************
  • Posts: 3821
  • Rating: +80/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #270 on: February 25, 2014, 03:37:05 am »
Well you could already modify the source. :P
It would be fun indeed.

Offline Jens_K

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Rating: +52/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #271 on: February 25, 2014, 01:23:57 pm »
@Piguy-3.14: Wow, thanks for the encouragement! :) Well, "final version" was probably the wrong expression; I meant v1.0, which means that it includes all initially planned features. When v1.0 is finished, I'll try to do some crazy stuff like infinite worlds, redstone, 2 layer system, dimensions, minecarts etc. But all of those features would take a very long time to develop and debug, so I want to finish all basic features first; but I think infinite worlds and redstone will be the first features I'll try to realize then ;)
I can't say yet how long I will continue working on MC2D and Nspire projects in general, because in 1 year I'll have finished high school and I intend to proceed to PC game/app development sometime...
And about the furnace bug: Yes, that was a stupid typo in the code which I fixed in v0.12.2, which I should have already uploaded if I wasn't that lazy... I'll do that soon :P
Sorry for nonsense.

Projects:



Offline nspireguy

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +11/-6
    • View Profile
    • NspireGuy
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #272 on: February 25, 2014, 02:23:56 pm »
Can you eventually add more monsters like spiders? and what about the nether?

Offline LDStudios

  • Coder Of Tomorrow
  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 388
  • Rating: +41/-1
    • View Profile
    • LD Studios
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #273 on: February 25, 2014, 06:51:02 pm »
@Piguy-3.14: Wow, thanks for the encouragement! :) Well, "final version" was probably the wrong expression; I meant v1.0, which means that it includes all initially planned features. When v1.0 is finished, I'll try to do some crazy stuff like infinite worlds, redstone, 2 layer system, dimensions, minecarts etc. But all of those features would take a very long time to develop and debug, so I want to finish all basic features first; but I think infinite worlds and redstone will be the first features I'll try to realize then ;)
I can't say yet how long I will continue working on MC2D and Nspire projects in general, because in 1 year I'll have finished high school and I intend to proceed to PC game/app development sometime...
And about the furnace bug: Yes, that was a stupid typo in the code which I fixed in v0.12.2, which I should have already uploaded if I wasn't that lazy... I'll do that soon :P

If you do attempt infinite worlds, there should be an option to have a limited world as well, i kind of like it, and it would probably have a lot less lag.



Offline Piguy-3.14

  • LV3 Member (Next: 100)
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
  • Rating: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #274 on: February 25, 2014, 09:54:58 pm »
Thanks for quick reply, when do you estimate to release the update?

Offline Jens_K

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Rating: +52/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #275 on: March 01, 2014, 08:28:17 am »
!!Update!!
Version 0.12.2 is now attached to the first post

Fixes & Improvemets:
- Probability of a freeze vastly reduced (still not sure why the timer stops so often for no reason)
- Fixed crash when destroying a used furnace
- Some minor fixes and improvemets

Can you eventually add more monsters like spiders? and what about the nether?
Yes, I think I'll create spiders for v0.13 and as I said to Piguy-3.14 dimensions such as the nether would be a post v1.0 feature

If you do attempt infinite worlds, there should be an option to have a limited world as well, i kind of like it, and it would probably have a lot less lag.
Yes, I'd keep the option of a finite world. I think the mapsize wouldn't affect the performance much; the engine is built to handle very large worlds; the lag is only because the Nspire LUA is so slow at drawing, but v0.13's fast graphic mode will be really fast (but only at moving the cursor ;)). But I'm a bit worried about the maximum length of a saveable string and the clipboard buffer... a large world already has about 17000 characters!

Thanks for quick reply, when do you estimate to release the update?
v0.12.2 now :P And v0.13 will take a while... I guess I'll take about a month
Sorry for nonsense.

Projects:



Offline AnToX98

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 107
  • Rating: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #276 on: March 01, 2014, 08:41:26 am »
That's awesome but I'm sad because you don't work at all on Jen's Script editor :(, there's so much to do and fix on it :(



My Lua projects :

Offline Jens_K

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Rating: +52/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #277 on: March 01, 2014, 09:45:51 am »
That's awesome but I'm sad because you don't work at all on Jen's Script editor :(, there's so much to do and fix on it :(

Oh no, you're right; I totally forgot that I was working on an update there... Can you please pm me all the things you found I have to do to make it solid until I have the time to work on the big v2.0 update?
Sorry for nonsense.

Projects:



Offline nspireguy

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +11/-6
    • View Profile
    • NspireGuy
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #278 on: March 06, 2014, 01:31:37 pm »
Good job Jens!!! I can't wait for v0.13!!! do you have an estimated month of even a day of the release?

Your amazing keep up the good work!!!

-NspireGuy

Offline CalebHansberry

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
  • Rating: +14/-0
  • This is my personal text
    • View Profile
    • Skylites Computers
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #279 on: March 07, 2014, 07:55:25 pm »
You'll need to really keep on your toes with updates to stay ahead of the nGL Minecraft (was it CrafTI?). :P Just kidding.
You should know, I am a Christian.

Offline bb010g

  • LV6 Super Member (Next: 500)
  • ******
  • Posts: 427
  • Rating: +22/-1
  • I do stuff
    • View Profile
    • elsewhere on the net
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #280 on: March 16, 2014, 12:37:41 pm »
I've been playing this now that I have 3.6 (\o/) and you've done a great job. However, I think that the Piggy Bank from Terraria would go well here. Both Minecraft 2D and Terraria have limited world sizes, and the universal player inventory, though small, helps make up for the size so you can keep progressing despite running out of space.
EDIT: After more playing, I've got a couple of questions:
  • Why are my saplings disappearing? Can they only grow on grass? Why do they dissapear even when they're on grass?
  • Will movement items be added (like Terraria)? I know you're trying to be MC in 2D, but without that 3rd dimension, moving around without hooks/larger jumps is annoying. (Especially on those 2-high hill things. I don't want to destroy it, but I can't get around if I don't!)
  • Why do mob spawners disrespect light levels completely? I could get it if they required a light level within 2 blocks of a torch, but making them only stoppable by blocking off/destroying is annoying.
  • Why are the checks for hostile light level at spawn at head level? (Just curious about this one.)
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 11:38:27 pm by bb010g »
Arch Linux user
Haskell newbie | Warming up to Lua | Being dragged into C++
Calculators: HP 35s, Casio Prizm, TI-Nspire CX CAS, HP-28s, HP Prime, Mathematica 9 (if that counts)
π: 3.14...; l: 108; i: 105; e: 101; l+i+e: 314
THE CAKE IS A LIE IS A PIE

Offline annoyingcalc

  • LV10 31337 u53r (Next: 2000)
  • **********
  • Posts: 1950
  • Rating: +140/-72
  • Found in Eclipse.exe
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #281 on: March 16, 2014, 11:24:04 pm »
Was crafting in 3.1 ever fixed? You should just have the gui show up for crafting and be able to scroll though them with arrow keys.
This used to contain a signature.

Offline nspireguy

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 158
  • Rating: +11/-6
    • View Profile
    • NspireGuy
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #282 on: March 17, 2014, 06:45:52 am »
Was crafting in 3.1 ever fixed? You should just have the gui show up for crafting and be able to scroll though them with arrow keys.
yes it was fixed in v0.12 (I think).

Offline The_King

  • LV5 Advanced (Next: 300)
  • *****
  • Posts: 247
  • Rating: +6/-2
  • Ⓣⓗⓔ Ⓖⓐⓜⓔ ⓍⒹ
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #283 on: March 17, 2014, 12:32:05 pm »
Was crafting in 3.1 ever fixed? You should just have the gui show up for crafting and be able to scroll though them with arrow keys.
yes it was fixed in v0.12 (I think).
jens made one menu with all commands, the crafting table ones are only activated after activating the table :D

Offline Jens_K

  • LV4 Regular (Next: 200)
  • ****
  • Posts: 186
  • Rating: +52/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Minecraft 2D for TI-Nspire
« Reply #284 on: March 17, 2014, 05:46:05 pm »
  • Why are my saplings disappearing? Can they only grow on grass? Why do they dissapear even when they're on grass?
  • Will movement items be added (like Terraria)? I know you're trying to be MC in 2D, but without that 3rd dimension, moving around without hooks/larger jumps is annoying. (Especially on those 2-high hill things. I don't want to destroy it, but I can't get around if I don't!)
  • Why do mob spawners disrespect light levels completely? I could get it if they required a light level within 2 blocks of a torch, but making them only stoppable by blocking off/destroying is annoying.
  • Why are the checks for hostile light level at spawn at head level? (Just curious about this one.)
  • Yes, as the help text says, saplings can only be placed on grass (or dirt). As in the real Minecraft, they disappear if they don't have enough space to grow; but in that case you get the item back.
  • No, sorry, I only want to make a Minecraft port, not a new game. You can use ladders or a water elevator! And btw: All this non minecraft stuff could be added by mods!
  • Thats a new feature of v0.13: You can put a torch on it to disable it then. Remeber it's still in development (v0.12)
  • I don't know. I changed it to feet level for v0.13
Was crafting in 3.1 ever fixed? You should just have the gui show up for crafting and be able to scroll though them with arrow keys.
Yep it was fixed in v0.12


And by the way: v0.13 is mostly finished, I estimate that the release date will be around end of this month :)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2014, 01:01:33 pm by Jens_K »
Sorry for nonsense.

Projects: