Author Topic: Axe Minesweeper  (Read 41220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #105 on: September 12, 2010, 02:33:44 pm »
I think it's basically the same but the number of DispGraphs he was using was changed, I think. I'm not sure though.
Yup, that's pretty much what I did.

Also:
I think Wabbitemu was slightly faster yesterday (not sure why).  It's probably either because the program is now an app or because I tinkered with the settings slightly.
Do apps go faster then Asm programs?
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #106 on: September 12, 2010, 02:35:14 pm »
I dont think so, but i also noticed some speedup even in my Serenity game, so im not sure if its an asm thing or if its wabbit in general o.O

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #107 on: September 12, 2010, 02:47:36 pm »
 !!!

;D   I just remembered: YOU CAN USE MODULUS IN AXE!!   ;D
I'm imagining so many things I can optimize now!

.....

*ahem*
Sorry about that - just wanted to share.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #108 on: September 12, 2010, 02:56:12 pm »
I think Buckeye might have accidentally WabbitEmu in recent versions. I'll let him know. Which copy of WabbitEmu do you use, though? I think there are two.

And yeah modulus is awesome. It got pretty useful in Supersonic Ball, especially for smooth scrolling :)
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #109 on: September 12, 2010, 02:58:10 pm »
I think Buckeye might have accidentally WabbitEmu in recent versions.

Eh, I think you're missing a verb there...

It claims its version 1.5
« Last Edit: September 12, 2010, 02:58:28 pm by Michael_Lee »
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline meishe91

  • Super Ninja
  • LV11 Super Veteran (Next: 3000)
  • ***********
  • Posts: 2946
  • Rating: +115/-11
    • View Profile
    • DeviantArt
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #110 on: September 12, 2010, 02:58:57 pm »
I'm still not really sure how to use modulus ??? But oh well, I can figure it out some other time :P
Spoiler For Spoiler:



For the 51st time, that is not my card! (Magic Joke)

Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #111 on: September 12, 2010, 03:00:40 pm »
I think Buckeye might have accidentally WabbitEmu in recent versions.

Eh, I think you're missing a verb there...

It claims its version 1.5
http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/i-accidentally

Oh I meant the copy of wabbitemu on wabbit.codeplex.com. There are two or three, if I remember, all with the same version number.
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #112 on: September 12, 2010, 03:08:35 pm »
That... is a clever meme.

I'm not sure which version I have.  To be honest, I'm a little hazy on how exactly I managed to obtain Wabbitemu.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.

Offline Deep Toaster

  • So much to do, so much time, so little motivation
  • Administrator
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *************
  • Posts: 8217
  • Rating: +758/-15
    • View Profile
    • ClrHome
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #113 on: September 13, 2010, 07:28:49 pm »
Wabbit gets updated pretty often, so you might want to update yours occasionally.

I'm still not really sure how to use modulus ??? But oh well, I can figure it out some other time :P

What do you mean? Modulus is just the remainder after division. For example, if you had an array of 3 rows of 3 entries per row, and X is the entry you're in (counting across each row first, then going down), X/3 is the row number, and X^3 is the column in that row.




Offline DJ Omnimaga

  • Clacualters are teh gr33t
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV15 Omnimagician (Next: --)
  • *
  • Posts: 55942
  • Rating: +3154/-232
  • CodeWalrus founder & retired Omnimaga founder
    • View Profile
    • Dream of Omnimaga Music
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #114 on: September 13, 2010, 07:40:57 pm »
Well modulus is not widely known by BASIC programmers because it doesn't have a direct modulus function (although it's possible I think to use combined functions to have modulus) and most people won't learn it in math. THose who only got BASIC as programming knowledge may have an harder time remembering
Now active at https://discord.gg/cuZcfcF (CodeWalrus server)

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #115 on: September 13, 2010, 07:41:57 pm »
I learned modulus with Omnicalc.  No joke. :P

This looks like a nice program.  Good luck! :)

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #116 on: September 13, 2010, 07:44:18 pm »
I think you can use fPart like this: AfPart(A/B) to find the remainder of A/B

Offline ztrumpet

  • The Rarely Active One
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5712
  • Rating: +364/-4
  • If you see this, send me a PM. Just for fun.
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #117 on: September 13, 2010, 07:45:50 pm »
I think you can use fPart like this: AfPart(A/B) to find the remainder of A/B
Yup.  Just be careful of rounding errors. :)

Offline Builderboy

  • Physics Guru
  • CoT Emeritus
  • LV13 Extreme Addict (Next: 9001)
  • *
  • Posts: 5673
  • Rating: +613/-9
  • Would you kindly?
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #118 on: September 13, 2010, 07:49:17 pm »
Ah yes, forgot about that D: Revised into

int(AfPart(A/B

Offline Michael_Lee

  • LV9 Veteran (Next: 1337)
  • *********
  • Posts: 1019
  • Rating: +124/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Axe Minesweeper
« Reply #119 on: September 13, 2010, 07:52:42 pm »
Well, technically, 2.53 has modulus, but nobody seems to use it...

Added scrolling:
It glitches if you go off screen, but that can be fixed.

Also, sorry about the end where I kept clicking the same mine repeatedly.  I was using shortcut keys, and misplaced my fingers so I kept pressing the wrong buttons.
Plus, I didn't feel like finishing the entire 18x18 mine, so I quit.
My website: Currently boring.

Projects:
Axe Interpreter
   > Core: Done
   > Memory: Need write code to add constants.
   > Graphics: Rewritten.  Needs to integrate sprites with constants.
   > IO: GetKey done.  Need to add mostly homescreen IO stuff.
Croquette:
   > Stomping bugs
   > Internet version: On hold until I can make my website less boring/broken.